We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sliders”
Review of Public House

Public House
Ranked #4 of 95 Restaurants in Ferndale
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ortonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sliders”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very cool atmosphere with big open garage door during summer. Small place, intimate setting. Went at 5:30 on a Saturday with no wait. Reasonably priced sliders so you can try different kinds. We loved the brisket & egg and the philly steak and cheese. The lentil one was way too minty for my taste. Beer and wine also reasonably priced. Great service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HanPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Every time I come there I am not that hungry but stuff myself as much as possible. Great prices, and even better burgers... for all the gf people they can make almost anything gf with a lettuce wrap versus bread :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food if you like to fight crowds”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We enjoy our local Public House. The food is great and the drinks are good too! Unfortunately it is very difficult to get a seat at the bar or a table when they are busy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Everything is Just Right”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a very good burger joint! A selection of home-made "jams" both sweet and savory top these tender, juicy burgers--which are just the right size. Home-made chips are the perfect crispy, salty side. The menu is small but packs a punch. And lunch is a ridiculous bargain. Soup & sandwich for under six dollars? Yes.
The full bar is not only a striking part of the decor, but is managed skillfully. Growlers of Public House beer are also available.
If they have a website, it's well hidden. They have a Facebook page, but with no URL listed for a website. You'll just have to go in person and check out the menu of scratch soups, sandwiches, burgers, and snacks. (When was the last time you saw deviled eggs on a menu?) Go. It's good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainetrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public House also viewed

 

Been to Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing