We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE GREATEST EVER!!”
Review of Star of India

Star of India
Ranked #56 of 95 Restaurants in Ferndale
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Lemoore, California
1 review
“THE GREATEST EVER!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

This restaurant, is the best Indian cuisine ever. The food is absolutely delicious, it's not as spicy, but will make it on request. The staff are wonderful, and helpful as well. The owner is really kind. The prices are great, and its a great place for family and friends. it is a MUST GO!!! high recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Napstack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    0
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“great and inexpensive indian food”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

have been going to star of india for many years and always bring my out of town friends there and they keep going back every time they are in town.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salad_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
2 reviews
“Great Indian Food!”
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Good food, good service, reasonably priced. Highly Recommended

Helpful?
Thank barbarabarefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, MI
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply the best! Priced right too!”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

My wife and I have been enjoying Star of India since our first date 12 years ago. Though the restaurant has moved from Troy to Ferndale, we still drive 45 minutes (one way to eat there). It has become the Indian restaurant by which we judge all others. The food is fresh, the ownership and wait staff bend over backwards to assure that you are satisfied.

Honestly, I drive 45 minutes one-way to get carry out from this place! I would not do that for any other restaurant. The food is THAT GOOD!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank igor948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Very pleasant, consistently good North Indian food from Star of India. Not as spicy as some Indian places, yet they will pep it up on request. There is a unique dish, Chicken Tikka Dansak, with a lentil based sauce and bit of spice that I recommend.

The mango lassies are quite good, and their breads (naan, paratha, puri) are a treat. Also, spiced tea. A relaxing place for lunch (inexpensive lunch menu) or dinner.

There is a big municipal parking lot out back with meters that take only quarters. Friday and Saturday nights in summer there tends to be a rowdy bar crowd patronizing other establishments on 9 Mile Rd that share the lot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hengest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of India also viewed

 

Been to Star of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing