We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Meal Go To Place”

Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro
Ranked #6 of 95 Restaurants in Ferndale
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Meal Go To Place”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Food and service are always impeccable. Wonderful outdoor seating in the back during the summer months. Only place we get escargot outside of Paris. Wines are very well chosen. A staple in Ferndale that seems to get a lot of clientele from West Bloomfield.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank straightboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This restaurant, in the center of a fun city, is great. The service was professional. Waiter was knowledgeable about the menu. Food was delicious - the calamari appetizer was one of the best I have ever eaten. Finishing off the meal with a dessert highly recommended. Every person on staff made us feel welcome from the start of our dining experience to the end.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhmm0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I love this place the food is very good ( the best ) the service is great and the atmosphere wonderful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food & Service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent an early New Year's eve dinner with friends. It wasn't our first visit, and it certainly won't be our last. Everything was delicious -- scallops on mushroom risotto were perfect (though the portion could have been four instead of three scallops, which was a bit stingy); my friend's dover sole was deboned tableside and was perfectly cooked; even the chicken dish was exceptional. We even tried a bottle of Bekkah Valley (Lebanese) red wine which was a treat. The grilled romaine lettuce salad was excellent. The shrimp bisque was tasty but a bit thin, with two plump shrimp thrown in for good measure. Service was attentive. It's not inexpensive, but for a special occasion, it's well worth the cost. Treat yourself to an amazing meal at Assaggi.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow-This is our New Favorite Restaurant in the Detroit Area”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Last night we paid a return visit to this lovely restaurant. We had a wonderful meal several
months ago and decided that this was where we wanted to celebrate two birthdays. Often,
you return to a restaurant that served a wonderful meal and the repeat visit doesn't measure
up. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE---THE WHOLE MEAL AND EXPERIENCE WAS SUBLIME.
The owner at our request served us the most delicious food possible with a special menu for us. That alone would stand out as about as good as it gets from the owners' desire to please their
customers. Service by the young man waiting on us was friendly, extremely professional,
and consistent with the entire experience. The food which included entrees of Chicken Francaise, Duck leg, and Salmon were all acclaimed to be superb. A pasta course with Italian
sausage was superior to one I had at Bacco restaurant in Southfield which up to now was number one on my list of favorite pasta dishes. This pasta dish will remain in my memory until
we next try it on a return visit. UNBELIEVABLE. Tomato basil soup was exceptional as well,
the best to be had at any restaurant. Dessert included mini cream puffs with Sanders hot fudge
and Crème Anglaise. Everything about this meal and dining experience was terrific.
I would advise anyone who wants to share a special event to put this restaurant at the top
of your list (It's outstanding for all occasions.) As amateur "foodies" we have gone to France and have memories of some great meals at 3 star Michelin restaurants. This restaurant right here in Ferndale is up there with those establishments. It is much more affordable and not exactly in Paris, but has all of the same "Wow" factor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paramourfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing