We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific restaurant..........” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro

Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in Ferndale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific restaurant..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Charming place with wonderful food and service. Like NYC but cozy. We were greeted warmly.
I had chiopinno which was marvelous and beautifully presented. I can't wait to try their secluded patio. Reservations are a must, as it is not large. Prices were reasonable for what you received,

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Can't think of a better place, outside of Italy, I'd rather enjoy a meal relaxing on their patio.
The food and service are exceptional...love our waiter Marc!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mata119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
175 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow! Highly creative, beautifully executed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just perfect! Table ready on time. Staff is professional, menu simple but complete. Wine list big enough, and with very reasonable markups. Waitstaff knowledgeable about wine and pairings. Food was wondful, even the classics like veal scaloppine.

Only downside was seating - a bit tight, and loud. Regardless, we will be back!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way, can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

I have nothing but great things to say about Assaggi. I recently dined there for the first time and look forward to return visits. We were there for dinner on what appeared to be a slower evening, and the restaurant was warm and charming. The staff were all perfectly attentive and friendly. Service was unobtrusive yet very thoughtful, leaving nothing to question. Our waiter was a pleasure, and really helped shape our experience at Assaggi. The menu offered a variety of Italian and Mediterranean selections that were all delicious, from the appetizers to the dessert. All dinners were served hot and the flavors were bold and delicious. You can tell that the owners set the tone for how they want the restaurant to function, and it shows. We can't wait to try Assaggi again, and check out the alfresco dining in the springtime.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ILove2Travel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great little Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I joined another couple for an informal dinner together. They have been coming her for YEARS! (thanks for sharing) and other family members, recently. All said it was fantastic and continue to return. There is parking in the back (metered). There is a lovely patio (not set up due to winter), with evergreens, lights, fountains and a garden of veg's and herbs that they use. Nice, clean, semi-casual, open atmosphere with windows along the front along 9 mile rd, just W of Woodward. Our waiter, Mark (you rock! Mark), was quickly to our table for our drink order. Promptly returned. Never felt rushed to order as we were "catching up". I ordered a mixed green salad, $6. Margarita pizza, $11 or 12. Very good. Right out of the oven, which is right there and you can watch them cook. BF had the "seafood stew" and LOVED it. Not a huge portion, but was plenty. Scallop and chicken dishes were equally tasty! Again, Mark was always around, making jokes, picking up plates,.... . The pita they bring with the oil/pesto mixture is excellent. Overall, a great time, great food, great service and will DEFINITELY be returning, soooooon!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yeagergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Assaggi Mediterranean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing