We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Food Prepared Consistently Well”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anita's Kitchen

Anita's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 94 Restaurants in Ferndale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh Food Prepared Consistently Well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We love Anita's Kitchen but we had the wait every time we come. The tables are crammed in tightly-elbow to elbow so you get to hear your neighbor's dinner conversation and bump their chair or table on your way out. What they lack in atmosphere they more than make up for in food quality. They use the freshest ingredients and everything is prepared to order. Their lamb chops are tender, tasty and prepared well. The lemon lentil soup had an interesting flavor profile that I am still deciding whether I would get it again. The baked falafel was very good and their garlic sauce is some of the best I have had. The chicken swarma was moist and flavorful. The brick roasted chicken was a bit salty (on both our visits) for our taste. We always save room for one of their lemon tarts. Service is unfortunately not as consistent as their food; that is an area where they definitely have room to improve. Despite the long waits and the predictable parking space deficiency, we will return for the excellent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMBWAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    46
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
158 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“My Ferndale favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Galaba - great
Hummus, baba ghanouj, tabbouleh - great (do wish they didn't serve the pita bread in plastic bags)
Fish specials - great
Pizzas - great

Love their uniform T-shirts - Who's your baba?, Nice fattoush, etc.

Can be extremely busy at "traditional" dinner time. Not a lot of waiting space. Go a bit early - no problem.

Thing to inprove - get indoor chairs that sit about 1-2 inches higher - I always feel like my plate is just under my chin. Outside seats are not so low.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lukehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant with quality ethnic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a restaurant you won't want to miss if you're in the area. It has great atmosphere with quality food and a good waitstaff. The family has been in the restaurant business for many years and definitely know what they're doing.
Some of their specialties are the Arabian Pizza, Gyros, Chicken Shwarna and their Lebnah is excellent.....also the Anita's Chop Salad and the Lentil Soup.
If you're looking for a new experience is in dining, try this restaurant! You will return once trying it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harrisgumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Anita's Kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Love the food, love the service, love the attitude. Definitely one of our favorite restaurants. Anita's staff always goes out of their way to accomodate my serious food allergy. Good wine list

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank crillon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
213 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fun finger food for grown-ups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The best way to enjoy all the varieties of Mediterranean food Anita's offers (at least until you learn your favorites) is to order their combinations--from appetizers to entrees. We greatly enjoyed having large platters in the middle of the table for everyone to sample and share, concluding that we like it all. Note to TA: prices run $10-15/entree.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Runpicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anita's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Anita's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing