We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Wish this restaurant was in our home town!”
Review of Salt of the Earth

Salt of the Earth
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Fennville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Salt of the Earth- rustic American eatery and bakery is located in the heart of southwest Michigan farm and orchard country. We cook from scratch to create our entrees, shared plates, wood oven fired pizzas, creative soups, fresh salads, desserts, and artisan breads. Ingredients are locally sourced, and organic whenever possible. Our full service bar proudly serves Michigan craft beers, hard ciders, spirits, and wines alongside other domestic and international products. Our craft cocktail menu features updated classics and creative house specialties. We are also an entertainment destination presenting the finest roots musicians on the scene at our weekly house concerts. We are proud to offer a high quality experience in a relaxed and casual atmosphere and hope to serve you soon. Join us for Sunday Brunch every Sunday May-November. Cheers!
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We Wish this restaurant was in our home town!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We took a mini vacation over Memorial Day weekend and traveled from Cleveland to Saugatuck. I did some research on restaurants nearby and we are SOOO glad we found out about Salt of the Earth!!! This place exceeded our expectations in every way. It opens at 5pm and by the time we arrived at 6:30 it was packed with quite the line of people waiting for a table. We got lucky and grabbed a couple of seats at the bar. The bartenders were quick efficient and super pleasant and working their butts off!! We decided to get the sausage flatbread and a salad to split. It was by far the best pizza we have ever had. The bread board with butter, salt & cracked pepper was DELICOUS. Everything was so fresh. It was definately one of our favorite dining experiences yet, we just wish it was in Cleveland and not Michigan!! We would be regulars for sure. I want to go back and try everything on their menu!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SE37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    94
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, MI
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous place.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Fabulous place. We went there for dinner and everything tasted wonderful. Martinis included They use products only from local farmers and growers....wish more places would follow their steps. Their s'more is huge as face and taste outstanding. Don't forget order coffee as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Another jewel in Western Michigan”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Go figger, another fabulous restaurant in the middle of nowhere, no offense Fennvillians. I happen to love this area but am always blown away by how many gastronomical surprises there are tucked away here and there. This is a restaurant that uses almost exclusively local products. Had the pressed chicken, and the roasted beets which were delicious, but the flash-fried brussel sprouts were out of this world. Soup was excellent, and bread was some of the best I've had anywhere - they also sell it locally (like at the Depot in South Haven - I recommend the herbs and salt but am looking forward to try the other 7 selections). Building on the main drag is both cozy and spacious with a really good soundtrack - kudos! someone has very "hip" taste and by that I don't mean hip hop - and they have live music on the weekends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Genuinely Wholesome”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Not only does the food taste good, it's good for you! Locally sourced and foraged and then prepared to perfection. This place is a diamond in the rough. No matter where you're coming from, it's worth the drive!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fennville, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local to Fennville”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Carlo Petrini would be proud of what’s turned out here. As a local, we have the opportunity to eat here often and the food is always fresh, with fresh ideas vetted into the fare. Menu changes often, certainly, as seasonal produce becomes its best. Try it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt of the Earth also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Douglas, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Fennville, Allegan County
 

Been to Salt of the Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing