We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in the Attic”
Review of J. Paules Fenn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
J. Paules Fenn Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Fennville B&B and Inns
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sleeping in the Attic”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We chose this B & B on week's notice because pets were accepted & it was advertised as being in a town near Saugatuc, MI. This was the only available room for the dates we needed and, described on the website as a suite, but we discovered upon checking in, was really an attic on the 3rd floor, not an actual suite! It did have jaccuzzi tub, very untidy, in the living area, yet across the room was a makeshift bathroom, but no shower! The only cool air was in the bedroom . . coming from a really old small window type airconditioner! Needless to say, it was unbearably hot in most of the living area & freezing in the bedroom! We were hoping to watch the Opening of the Olympics only to discover that the flat screen TV only took DVD's, while the tiny 26 " old TV with regular programing was in the cold bedroom! A minimum 2 night stay was required, so we were really stuck at this place. We told her that she had not told us about the lack of a shower or the terrible heat in the attic & that the room was not very clean, whereupon Innkeeper Paulette, became quite rude. After pressing her, the best she offered was another old fan to help to cool the attic. and $50. off the nearly $400. bill for the so called Tree Top Suite. In the main floor area of the house, the Innkeeper & her family were always sitting around watching TV, the entry desk area was a mess, as was much of the outside area next to the glassed in Porch where Breakfast was served. We waked through the kitchen to get to the porch and then she actually peeled veggies into the garbage pail right on that same porch while we ate breakfast. The meals were the only good thing about the entire stay. We felt more like we were staying in a Farm House with the family out in the "sticks" than in a B & B!

All in all it was the worst stay we have ever endured in a B & B and we have stayed many nights in a lot of B & B's all over the country. This Inn & Innkeeper may have once had some charm, but both have lost it a long ago. .

Room Tip: When the pictures show more of the main floor or the grounds and not of the actual room itself, bewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilbit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette C, Owner at J. Paules Fenn Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Sleeping in the Attic.... We try very hard to make sure, the description of our room are very accurate as to what to expect when you arrive, If you look at the Pictures of the Tree Top Suite #1 I think you would say it is a really nice area, I will let you judge that for your self, and we state very clearly that it has only a Jacuzzi tub, and no shower, we were not able to put in a shower because of keeping the roof line of the house. We also state that the one TV is for movies only(which was a new addition) and that Dish is in the Bed room..... As for being to hot up their, not knowing what days they stayed with us, we provide fans to make sure the cool air is through the whole are of the suite.. and this is the first complaint we have received it was to hot in this area???
We meet and great our guest on the main floor and sit with them often, I guess we could all stand... I am not sure where they would want us to be... And the reference to my desk area please, it is a working office. My Inn is a working Inn, and yes it may not look picture perfect out side and all the flowers my not be blooming at the same time... We are sorry they had less then a perfect experience when they stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a perfect getaway in the Saugatuck/Douglas/Fenn area. We were in the English Garden room and it was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom which was across the hall is huge and private. Breakfast was delicious and Paulette is so kind and gracious. I especially loved the presentation of everything and the quiche! It is an excellent value to stay here. Everyone was very friendly and it is private and peaceful and not far at all from the action of downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette C, Owner at J. Paules Fenn Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Wonderful Visit-
I think this is a very accurate description, of what we try to provide for all our guest, we want them to come back... and will reward them for do just that with a 5% discount on their return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were looking for accommodations near Saugatuck/Douglas area beaches, but without the commotion of the downtown activity. J Paules was the perfect option for us. The proprietor, Paulette, has provided for every need at her quaint B & B. The grounds were beautifully manicured, our room was comfortable and clean, and our private bath (across the hall) contained every amenity needed had we arrived without our own toiletry kits.

Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, homemade blueberry pancakes and sausage (mine, turkey sausage, since Paulette asked at time of booking if we are meat eaters and if there were any food allergies or dislikes.) Though we didn't take advantage, there was a table with various fruit, nuts, and cakes for a mid-day or late-night snack, and Keurig beverage machines on the main floor, and outside the upstairs bedrooms.

Our little room A/C unit was enough to make "white noise." Though there were other guests in the neighboring rooms, we wouldn't have known. We had a quiet, restful night's sleep and would stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach_faery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette C, Owner at J. Paules Fenn Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Quiet, charming retreat;

Thanks, we do try very hard to make our guests stay as pleasant as we can the past 27 year, has every thing always been perfect, NO! but we listen to our guests and have made changes through the past years so we can do the best job we can to make their stay a good one.
Paulette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The place is overpriced, not terribley well maintained, and the hostess is a ... unfriendly, short-tempered, unhelpful shrew who force feeds you unwanted hard sales pitch for her vitamin cult at every turn. It looks nice in photos but do'n't be deceived into thinking that the cosy living room pictured will be available for your use. The hostess and her boyfriend monopolized it the entire time we were there and we heard their TV programmes late into the night each night. Food was palatable but I really didn't appreciate the dirty look at breakfast when my wife politely declined taking the supplement pills the hostess put out for us. After my wife explained that she has allergies, the hostess said (in a pretty snitty tone) that her pills wouldn't bother anyone and tried to stare her down. What a nasty way to start a day. And there is no choice at breakfast. She cooks what SHE wants.

We hated this place and this horrid, rude, greedy woman. Stay far away from this one. Not much to recommend here. We paid too much for the room, didn't like the breakfast, and the wine and sweets offering were both stale. But the worst part is that woman. Stay anywhere else if you expect friendly service and a relaxed, comfortable environment or if you actually hope to watch TV in the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tl906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette C, Owner at J. Paules Fenn Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Unfriendliest host and service...

Not sure these people stayed at our Inn, Our TV on the main floor if it is on, is off by 10pm as not to disturb guest on the main floor. I am never nasty to my guest, it is not good business... rude, greedy I give my guest more FREE thing then most B&B's.

So sorry they had such a bad experience, We are not a restaurant and we do serve our people according to their dietary needs, because again we want to have our guest happy. and why would you not watch TV in your room so you can watch what you want.... can you emanation 6 rooms of people trying to crowd in to the living room and agreeing on what to watch......REALLY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

It is hard to know where to begin with this review of our experience. I will just lay out the facts and I wish every reader to take great pause and re-think it before booking at this B & B. I booked a reservation in June for the weekend of August 19th and booked a room upstairs. The day before we departed for our vacation I called to double check our reservation and was told they didn't have me reserved. Paulette explained that her computer went down in June but said she had an extra room and I could still come. She put us in a small room right off the kitchen that had no AC and no TV. The wall between the kitchen and the bedroom she put us in is paper thin so we could hear every clank and word spoken in the kitchen and were woken up quite early by the breakfast preparation.
I was disturbed by this and asked her to move rooms. She said it would be $25 extra but then decided she would allow us to move without the fee. We did not end up staying the 2nd night for several reasons... After taking a shower and putting our towels in the hamper they provided, we went on with our day and came back to find the towels we had put in the hamper had been pulled out and hung up for us to use again. Classy eh? We paid $300 to stay in a very small room with no AC and no TV that was not the room we reserved even though she had a nicer room available to give us. GREEDY and really appauling. I have since learned that this room we stayed in actually costs $75 per night and not $110 that she charged us which makes sense given the fact that it is very loud. So, we were overcharged which we will have to attempt to fix with our lawyer if needed.
Another fact that people should consider is that the family who ownes the B & B hang out most of the time in the main living area watching TV so it can feel like you are not staying in a B & B but rather someone's house.
I always imagined a B & B to have a very welcoming hostess who was friendly and had positive energy. Paulette seemed tired and depressed and not welcoming. When we instructed our dog not to bark she immediately said, "yes, good dog, bark!" Huh?
Last point to make... when I got there she said God must have wanted me to come there and God wanted her to have the room booked for the night. I wonder if God wanted her to overcharge and give us the crappiest room in the house?

Room Tip: If you book - make sure you are not on the main floor
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette C, Owner at J. Paules Fenn Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Very Disappointing.

What can one say about this.... Sorry! again we try to put a full description on our site, and we always do the same when we are talking about the room when booking by phone, we always keep a paper trail and even if our PC was down we would of had a record, and we didn't.

So it had to have never been an accepted reservation, just because you book on line does not mean you have a booking.... always you should receive an email that states your reservation was accepted or rejected.

I believe they stayed right after the room was made into Guest room #6, it use to be my Reiki/Massage room, but as it states on my site it is not the quietest room at the Inn, and should be consider when booking.

All true B&B are people's homes.... these people don't sound like they have been B&B goers and my be happier in a Motel or Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Paulette and Ewald are fantastic hosts of this lovely B&B. We have stayed there 3 times in the past year and a half. We love the Tree Top Room. The room is lovely and private. The hot tub is great, after a day of sight seeing. The evening snacks are out of this world, as is the breakfast Paulette makes. It is our favorite place to get away to. Hope to go stay next year again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette C, Owner at J. Paules Fenn Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Simply the BEST!

They love the Tree Top Suite #4 this is what we want to hear. Referred to as the ATTIC by another guest... Repeat customer , happy customer..... got to love them.....

THANKS,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at this Inn and found the place to be clean, owners nice, food good, however would not stay again. Beds were very uncomfortable to the point where we had to put blankets on top of the mattress to give it a little cushion. Not a place to stay if you are not a big animal lover. They welcome pets here and most guest do have pets. I for one do not mind them but do not like sleeping where others may have had their animals on the bed, etc.

Since many places do not welcome pets this would be a place for you but not if you are not bringing your pets or if you are looking for a comfortable bed to sleep at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cybaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulette C, Owner at J. Paules Fenn Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I have just signed up as the owner of J. Paule's Fenn Inn and have found some interesting comments which I hope to slowly address.
"Good for Pet Owners"
We have had very few complaints about our beds, most people find them very comfortable, but we have gotten some mattress toppers for those who find a firm mattress not their thing. So we hope we have addressed this problem this particular guest was having. We do have one room the West Suite #1, which was completely redone around 4 years ago, which no pets are allowed for people who have problem with allergies. We do except pets so if that is a problem you should consider. what when booking. We charge $20 extra per day for our guest to bring their dogs and we have strict pet policies. We have not had any dogs of our own the past 3 years... and most people do not let their dogs sleep on the bed they have kennels and if they should have a special request we have special bedding.... We have only allowed one person to bring a cat and because of our own cat allergies we only except dog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fennville
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
823 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#6 of 24 in Saugatuck
249 reviews
7.7 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#5 of 16 in South Haven
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
6.4 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#5 of 10 in Saugatuck
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Paules Fenn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Paules Fenn Inn

Property: J. Paules Fenn Inn
Address: 2254 58th St, Fennville, MI 49408-8414
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Fennville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fennville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This private home, has been welcoming guest for the past 28 years as J. Paule's Fenn Inn. Very centrally located and with-in walking distance to Hutchen's Lake with wonderful fishing. Sitting on over 1-1/2 acres of land this 6 bedroom home is in a perfect spot for weddings, receptions, family reunions, or a romantic getaway. Just minutes from wineries and orchards yet so close to the beach s of Lake Michigan, one mile from Fennville and Saugatuck/Douglas are just down the road with all they have to offer. All the rooms have private baths, 2 rooms baths are across the hall. Some have tubs and no showers, so please read the description of the room carefully so you will not be disappointed with your stay. We do take Dog's/$20 extra per day per pet, sorry no cat's, allergies. Please read all pet and Inn policies before you book. Two rooms are on the main floor so if you are a light sleeper you may not be happy with those room, we do have noise machines in each room, but please consider that when booking, again we want your stay to be a good one. We serve a Full breakfast every morning and have no problems accommodating special food needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your J. Paules Fenn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing