We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aged but spotless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Aged but spotless”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a very very early appointment in the area so I chose to stay in a hotel and get those extra 30 minutes sleep rather than spend them driving from my home in Waterford. Arrived at 9pm. Check-in was quick and with a kind smile. Yes the furniture is nearly 20 years outdated but it wasn't dirty or marked up. It was gently aged. The room was spotless, sheets and towels were clean and fresh. I woke at 430 as refreshed as one can expect from a night away from home, from my babies.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    102
    62
    54
    37
See reviews for
130
60
21
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time at this hotel. Checked in, and found we had a jacuzzi tub. Thought it was a nice bonus, until we found it did not work. Shame on us, but we did not call the front desk and complain. It was not that big a deal to us, but might matter to the next person using the room. Hotel was clean and quiet. A contingent of adolescents checked in the day after we did, but we never heard a peep.
Room was clean and comfortable with a king bed, tv, sofa and desk. All we needed to be comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Well kept hotel located near local sites. We spent 2 nights and will be back. Breakfast seemed a bit expensive at $8.95 so we didn't try it. Starbucks is across the street which is always good! Catholic church is walking distance which was convenient .Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a nice hotel, well maintained. Its just north of 696 highway but is on side road so you dont hear too much traffic noise. The dining/lounge area is right next to the internet computer stations. Rooms are clean and updated. They have a gym and indoor pool but I was too busy to use either.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the north wing. You are away from traffic and can use that exit for quicker acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

God, this is an awful hotel. I must have had a brain infarct when I made this reservation. It was fairly inexpensive (in fact, dirt cheap compared to other places) and that should have been my first clue! This was a miserable 2-night stay. The good news is that I spent very little time at the hotel except to sleep. I attempted breakfast on the first morning, but walked out.

I had the one-bedroom suite and it was pretty bad. Dark, dark room, bereft of any natural light; beat up and worn furniture; and an old, outdated (and not clean) multi-jet spa tub - a relic from the 1980's. I generally use coffee makers to prepare hot water for tea. This coffee maker was beyond filthy. There were layers of sticky dust, it smelled of old coffee, and it clearly had not been cleaned in ages. The bed was uncomfortable, the room had an odor that no amount of air freshener could alleviate, the towels were threadbare, and the carpet was old, dark, and stained.

Breakfast (food and service) was laughable. The dining room was filthy when I arrived for a late breakfast: dirty tables, food on the chairs and on the floor, an harassed waitress who couldn't seem to get my order right, and the entire place looked like a beat up diner from some ancient 1970's movie. The entire scene was too much and given the conditions of my room, I just left the restaurant and had breakfast off-site. The less time I stayed at the hotel, the better.

Parking was free. (Well, it should be given the condition of this hotel.) The front desk was useless as well as the remaining hotel staff. Housekeeping was marginal - the sink in the bathroom didn't get cleaned. The location of the hotel is suspect. It's not near any businesses and the neighborhood is questionable.

When I pointed out the above observations to a manager (if that's what he was), he just shrugged his shoulders. That response told me everything I need to know. If management doesn't care about a property, then it's not going to get any better. I can say without hesitation that I'll never stay here, again. This places needs a MAJOR renovation or torn down and rebuilt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apollo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farmington Hills hotels

Washington DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night for convenience to the freeway. It is apparent that this was not originally a Courtyard, based on the layout. I felt like the hotel was too expensive for its current state. It seemed a bit out of date and in need of updating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canesgirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farmington Hills hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Farmington Hills
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit F...
#1 of 12 in Farmington Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Nov...
#2 of 12 in Farmington Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Farmington Hills
Extended Stay America - Detroit ...
#9 of 12 in Farmington Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Farmington Hills
Comfort Inn Farmington Hills
#7 of 12 in Farmington Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detro...
#3 of 12 in Farmington Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
#5 of 12 in Farmington Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills

Property: Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills
Address: 31525 W 12 Mile Rd, Farmington Hills, MI 48334-4403 (Formerly Hotel Farmington Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Farmington Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 200 sleeping rooms, 4000 square feet of meeting space, located on the 2nd busiest intersection in the Detroit Metro. Ample shopping, theatres and only minutes away from Downtown Detroit and only minutes away from Ford Field, Comerica Park and Joe Louis Arena and Cobo Hall. Hotel is located on the southwest corner of 12 Mile Rd and Orchard Lake in Farmington Hills. Hotel is located conveniently off Interstate 696 at exit #5. All rooms feature high speed internet, hair dryer, coffee makers and coffee, iron and ironing board, cable tv and am/fm radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Farmington Hills Hotel Farmington Hills
Courtyard Farmington Hills
Farmington Hills Marriott
Farmington Hills Courtyard
Courtyard Detroit Farmington Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing