We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice and close to highway, yet not too congested”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very nice and close to highway, yet not too congested”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a nice hotel, well maintained. Its just north of 696 highway but is on side road so you dont hear too much traffic noise. The dining/lounge area is right next to the internet computer stations. Rooms are clean and updated. They have a gym and indoor pool but I was too busy to use either.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the north wing. You are away from traffic and can use that exit for quicker acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    102
    60
    52
    37
See reviews for
128
59
17
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

God, this is an awful hotel. I must have had a brain infarct when I made this reservation. It was fairly inexpensive (in fact, dirt cheap compared to other places) and that should have been my first clue! This was a miserable 2-night stay. The good news is that I spent very little time at the hotel except to sleep. I attempted breakfast on the first morning, but walked out.

I had the one-bedroom suite and it was pretty bad. Dark, dark room, bereft of any natural light; beat up and worn furniture; and an old, outdated (and not clean) multi-jet spa tub - a relic from the 1980's. I generally use coffee makers to prepare hot water for tea. This coffee maker was beyond filthy. There were layers of sticky dust, it smelled of old coffee, and it clearly had not been cleaned in ages. The bed was uncomfortable, the room had an odor that no amount of air freshener could alleviate, the towels were threadbare, and the carpet was old, dark, and stained.

Breakfast (food and service) was laughable. The dining room was filthy when I arrived for a late breakfast: dirty tables, food on the chairs and on the floor, an harassed waitress who couldn't seem to get my order right, and the entire place looked like a beat up diner from some ancient 1970's movie. The entire scene was too much and given the conditions of my room, I just left the restaurant and had breakfast off-site. The less time I stayed at the hotel, the better.

Parking was free. (Well, it should be given the condition of this hotel.) The front desk was useless as well as the remaining hotel staff. Housekeeping was marginal - the sink in the bathroom didn't get cleaned. The location of the hotel is suspect. It's not near any businesses and the neighborhood is questionable.

When I pointed out the above observations to a manager (if that's what he was), he just shrugged his shoulders. That response told me everything I need to know. If management doesn't care about a property, then it's not going to get any better. I can say without hesitation that I'll never stay here, again. This places needs a MAJOR renovation or torn down and rebuilt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apollo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farmington Hills hotels

Washington DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night for convenience to the freeway. It is apparent that this was not originally a Courtyard, based on the layout. I felt like the hotel was too expensive for its current state. It seemed a bit out of date and in need of updating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canesgirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and I would rate this lower than the other courtyards. Carpets are a little run down, pool is dirty and the place does look run down. On a positive note, staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is close to good restaurants and freeways.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights while I was moving between homes and needed a close place to work to avoid the commute. The hotel is really dated and in need of a face lift, but the room was clean and the staff were very nice. I booked my room through priceline so I cannot complain about the price, but I would not have paid the asking price for a room here. This hotel is rated a three star but I think it is bordering a 2.5 star.

Room Tip: Ask for the most updated room and one away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is the worst hotel that i have every stayed at. We rented to the room to save ourselves for the terrible heat of our house since we lost power due to a storm. When we arrived the room was cool but within being their 30 mins the room air conditioner broke. So they then moved us across the hall and after being in that room for a couple of hours that conditioner broke.

Room Tip: dont rent here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have been staying at this property for last 4 years - and always found their staff to be extremely accomodative of our needs. Special thanks to Restaurant staff for their personalised care and Chief Engineer Mr Scott for quick turnaround for resolving any problem. Will continue to choose this hotel whenever I visit Farmington again.

Room Tip: Rooms near exit doors for easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 456CRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farmington Hills hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Farmington Hills
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit F...
#1 of 12 in Farmington Hills
197 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Nov...
#2 of 12 in Farmington Hills
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Farmington Hills
Extended Stay America - Detroit ...
#9 of 12 in Farmington Hills
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Farmington Hills
Comfort Inn Farmington Hills
#7 of 12 in Farmington Hills
66 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detro...
#3 of 12 in Farmington Hills
276 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
#5 of 12 in Farmington Hills
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills

Property: Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills
Address: 31525 W 12 Mile Rd, Farmington Hills, MI 48334-4403 (Formerly Hotel Farmington Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Farmington Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 200 sleeping rooms, 4000 square feet of meeting space, located on the 2nd busiest intersection in the Detroit Metro. Ample shopping, theatres and only minutes away from Downtown Detroit and only minutes away from Ford Field, Comerica Park and Joe Louis Arena and Cobo Hall. Hotel is located on the southwest corner of 12 Mile Rd and Orchard Lake in Farmington Hills. Hotel is located conveniently off Interstate 696 at exit #5. All rooms feature high speed internet, hair dryer, coffee makers and coffee, iron and ironing board, cable tv and am/fm radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Carlson, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Farmington Hills Hotel Farmington Hills
Courtyard Farmington Hills
Farmington Hills Marriott
Farmington Hills Courtyard
Courtyard Detroit Farmington Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing