We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Northwest Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.....”
Reviewed May 21, 2006

My husband, myself and our two daughters (13 and 24) stayed at this hotel for three nights in mid-May 2006. We had a two-double-bed suite and my uncle stayed down the hall in a king suite. We were there for my father's funeral, so it was a stressful situation at best. I was very pleased overall with our stay at this hotel. We made our suite our "home-away-from-home." We would stay again.

Lobby: Clean and impressive.

Restaurant and Lounge: I never ate at the restaurant. My husband had the continental breakfast once. He said it was fine. One evening I asked the front desk clerk where the lounge was and never really got an answer. He mumbled something about the restaurant. I didn't see a cocktail lounge and I looked for it.

Suite: We really liked the "suite" arrangement. My uncle was staying in another room and he would come and visit. It was nice to have a living room and not be visiting on beds. Since we were staying three nights, we used the refrigerator for some beverages, sandwich items and leftovers, and did use the microwave. We found that set-up to be wonderful. The size of the refrigerator was a pleasant surprise as well. It was larger than expected and could hold two-liter bottles on the door.

Beds: Lots of pillows. The first night our older daughter slept on the sofa bed. She said it was very uncomfortable. The mattress was thin and no springs. My husband said our double bed was uncomfortable but I found it fine.

Room furnishings: There was an issue with the window not closing all the way, but since I like a little fresh air, I didn't see this as a problem. The furnishings in the room were appropriate for this type of hotel and functional. We had two TV's and again, the living room was great. One night I stayed up later than the rest of the family and sat in the living room, had a drink and a snack and watched TV while the rest of them slept. Again, loved having a suite.

TV: No Cable. I am glad I had TIVO'd a show at home because it was showing and I would have missed it. Lots of news stations...not a whole lot else.

WiFi: My husband got on his laptop without any problems.

Housekeeping: There were four of us. We had two glasses. You don't get clean ones. They just leave the dirty ones there. We also did not have enough styrofoam cups the first day for coffee. I had brought some from home, thankfully, or only one of us would have been able to have coffee. I made a call to the front desk and eveything was much better on "Day 2." Lots of towels throughout our stay. Room was clean. Coffee. Lots of toiletries.

Pool and Exercise Room: The exercise room was very nice. My only observation was that if I were much taller, I would have had a problem with the treadmills because the ceiling was so low. Also, no TV. I remember commenting to myself, "A TV would have been nice." They had a water cooler. Nice. Towels at the pool, again, nice. The pool was clean, the temperture was great and the spa was soothing. No complaints there. I enjoyed the pool and spa very much. My only observation there was that there was not a restroom of any kind in that facility. To use a restroom you had to go in the hall and use the one off the lobby. Not great with wet suits.

Overall impression: I would stay there again. The suite set-up was great. There are enough restaurants close enough that the restaurant issue did not come into play. They offer room service breakfast which is great for the business traveler. We considered ordering on our last day but we just didn't make it happen. I would recommend this hotel for families using this as a place to stay for travel but not as a destination. For families looking for a place to spend the weekend, find a Holidome. This hotel is great for the business traveler. VERY convenient to the expressways.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sailwithme56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    43
    19
    11
    19
See reviews for
34
11
7
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 7, 2006

My stay at this hotel was for 1 week. The whole experience between check in and check out was unpleasant. Breakfast on Sunday at the restaurant in the hotel was a farse. The Front Desk Staff claimed that the restaurant is not run by Holiday Inn and they are not responsible for their quality (or lack of). The pool was unusable due to extremely high chlorine vapors which had people coughing and their eyes buning. The ceiling in the exercise room is very low and there isn't much equipment. My room was on a non smoking floor but the guests in the room next to mine as well as several other rooms on that floorwere smoking. This issue was brought to the attention of the front desk for two consecutive days. The staff was either unable to enforce the no smoking rule or the issue was ignored since this problem didn't stop. A package had been dropped off at the front desk with instructions on it to advise me that it had arrived. I went to the front desk the next day to inquire on the package and it was handed to me with the note to let me know that it had arrived still on it! The front desk had no comment. The window in the room I stayed didn't close all the way allowing noise from the Intersate as well as wind and rain to enter the room. This problem was not addressed even though I stayed there for an entire week. When I enquired to the possibility to change rooms I was advised that the Hotel was full but that they would try to accomodate me, I never heard from them for the rest of my stay. I have had many pleasant stays at Holiday Inns but this is not one that I would recommend until many issues have been resolved.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2006

I stay there at the Superbowl weekend the hotel look like is five star hotel, i loved ever thing the stuff, the place and the services. i would stay there again. and every thing in the room it look brand new.

nadeem

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2005

This hotel is no longer a Radisson. As of November, it was under construction to be transformed to another chain, I was told a high end Holiday Inn. Be that as it may, they are renting out rooms despite being in essence a construction site. When I stayed on Nobember 9 the entrance was through an emergency exit, the walls around the check in desk were framed in but not yet sheetrocked. In my room, two lights did not work, some of the wallpaper trim was not up, and other parts of the wallpaper were coming off, the marble surround on the sink was still attached visa tape and the internet connection was not working. Frankly, I was surprised that they were open. I think it is a mistake, as I will not be back. My travel agency called the hotel to make the reservation, and received no warning about the work being done, so I thought I would post something for others.


  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 27, 2004

this is a great hotel...clean...free drinks in the evening....and a great breakfast in the morning. This hotel has a great location close to shopping and in a nice safe area. When traveling to Detroit. I will be staying here for sure

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 14, 2003

While visiting relatives in the area, we recently stayed at this hotel.
We were given the royal treatment by my standards. Every effort was made by the entire staff to make our stay memorable. Robin the general manager, was the best. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with children or traveling as a professional. Thank You.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2003

Hotel convenient to all major thoughways into Detroit. We rented two rooms for the night, booked though expedia for about 89.00 per room.
Checkin was fast and easy. Front desk very helpful. Gave us coupons to order pizza. Was greated in the hallway by our room by housekeeping staff. Helped us with getting our doors open. Brought extra blankets and pillows quickly. Free breakfast buffet included. Good deal when you are feeding 4 teenage boys. Scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hash browns, french toast, cereal, danish and donuts.

Helpful?
5 Thank StevenDJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington Hills
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Farmington Hills
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit F...
#1 of 12 in Farmington Hills
196 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills
Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmingto...
#3 of 12 in Farmington Hills
361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detro...
#2 of 12 in Farmington Hills
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
#6 of 12 in Farmington Hills
133 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi

Property: Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi
Address: 37529 Grand River Ave, Farmington Hills, MI 48335-2879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Farmington Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites in Farmington Hills/Novi is a three diamond, full service, all suite hotel providing exceptional service, free wireless high-speed Internet and free local calls. We are conveniently located to I-696, I-275 and M-5. We have easy access to Livonia, Novi, Southfield and Detroit. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Farmington Hills/Novi is the recipient of the 2007 Renovation Award. Everything has been designed for business and leisure travelers alike. Our meeting/banquet space accommodates up to two hundred people. Nearby offices include General Motors, Hitachi, Nissan, Tower Automotive, Magna and TRW. The nearby expressways allow quick access to local attractions and sports centers such as Greenfield Village/Henry Ford Museum, Ford Field, Palace of Auburn Hills, Twelve Oaks Mall, Detroit Casinos, Detroit Zoo, Founders Sports Park, Canton Sports Center, Compuware Arena and Comerica Park. We are the host hotel for the Rock Financial Showplace located only a few miles away. Attending the Great Lakes Art Fair, Int'l Gem & Jewelry, Mustang Memories All Ford Show or the W. Oakland Rib Cook Off & Family Fest at Rock Financial Showplace - our Direct Dial Phone located at RFS provides convenient complimentary shuttle service. Our team of highly qualified staff will provide nothing less than world-class professional, courteous and responsive service at the Holiday Inn & Suites Farmington Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi Hotel Farmington Hills
Farmington Hills Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing