We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Camelia's Mexican Grill
Ranked #105 of 162 Restaurants in Farmington Hills
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 8, 2016

The enchiladas are tasty and the chicken tacos are too! The chicken was a little dry, but we did catering and sometimes there is only so much you can do. I also don't think anyone needs a pan of refried beans as big as what you get, but it is still, everything is always delightful when we order from Camelia's!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maredoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2016

Three of our family members and I, decided to have dinner at the relocated and brand new Camelia's Mexican grill restaurant. We had often visited their old facility on 12m Rd and always enjoyed their food and service..
We arrived at the restaurant at approx 20min to nine, and were very glad that we made it before their 9pm closing time. Our joy was quickly diminished when a young lady whose face carried over abundance of metal decorations, made a comment that we MAY BE too late. After a quick check with the management we were escorted to a table with a wish for a pleasnt evening. We very quickly ordered the customary Margaritas and our meals. Everything arrived very quickly as we sensed that things are bit rushed. The first sign of trouble came when my Shrimp cocktail arrived with NO SHRIMP. I pointed that out to our waiter and he corrected the problem as he displaying a slight annoyance with the deficiency.A bigger issue surfaced after we gulped our margaritas and asked for a refill and were told it's too late. This disregard to our request for service prompted a call for THE MANAGER.
When the manager arrived full of pomp and circumstance sporting an arrogant smirk we knew our chances for getting a second drink were zilch. He began his lecture that it's past 9 O'clock and the bar is closed. Told him that we were all seated well before 9, and that there are still other patrons seated in the restaurant.WE also pointed out that since HE IS THE MANAGER, he can certainly authorize three margaritas. His attitude became more pompous, as he reiterated the bar is closed and so is the restaurant and we should conclude our dinner because further service is not available.In the final display of MANAGERIAL POWER, he turned off the lights over our table which made signing the check very difficult
All this consternation was happening at approx 9:10 pm.
We could not believe the arrogant and snarky behavior from a Restaurant manager. The only reason I think he was appointed a manager because he is a member of Camelia's family. He may be an acceptable as a restaurant manager under calm no conflict conditions;
But under stress he is a disaster. A few incidents like ours and Camelia is out of business. I will refrain from critiquing the food at Camelias. We all found that boorish arrogance of the Manger very very annoying.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Service
Thank Cas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2015

We ordered nachos, soft tacos and an enchilada. The food was good, however it took forever to get it. We missed a movie because of it, and we got refills once when the nachos came but the waitress didn't come back after that until we got our food. At one point, there were no waitresses on the floor. When we finally did get our food, it tasted good but we'll never go back because that was way too long to wait for what we ordered.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissLenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015

After catching an afternoon movie we stopped in for dinner. A tacate beer, a regular margarita, an order of guizado pork and e shredded chicken enchilada suizas made us a very happy couple and only set us back less than $30.00. The restaurant is clean and cheerful. The bathrooms are also clean and pleasant to use. The staff are cordial and friendly and offer refills of their mild sauce and chips without request. My husband is fond of this location due to the proximity to Oakland Community College. We took home half of our meals because the portions were generous. Try it and you will like it.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

Stopped in for good authentic food. Waited a while for waitress and final can and took drink order. Had questions on menu but waited and waited and finally she came back which I think she forgot I was there. Just went and order beef enchilada. Food can out very fast but chicken. Waited again for someone, but food was getting cold so started to eating it. Half done and she showed up again and she told me she order beef. She reported this mistake to manager. All the waiters were busy cleaning up tables, tipping on there sides, pulling up carpet and closing. Hard to believe at 7 pm. After waiting a long time, while she was sweeping floors around other customers, I went to manager and asked for bill. Would have figured he would have said something after I complained. Guess not.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank erico989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelia's Mexican Grill also viewed

Farmington Hills, MI
Farmington Hills, MI
 

Been to Camelia's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing