We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch specials”
Review of Hong Hua

Hong Hua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch specials”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We love to lunch here as the combos are very delicious,the back room is very noisy & has no ambiance.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shubha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    68
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Not for me, prefer Korean, Thai, Vietnames and Mexican over Chinese any day of the week.”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I reluctantly went with a friend of mine and his best friend, who brought along his very strange cartoonish type Hedonistic Chinese wife (trophy-bride) and yes she dresses like a cartoon character, down to her pigtails, short Catholic school girl plaid skirt and huge hooker shoes (shapely woman but defo late 30s), cause that's what makes her filthy rich husband tick. She took it upon herself to order the entire meal for the 6 of us, while she entertained us with her cutsie self and showed off her newly acquired rotund silicone boobs. All I recall from the dinner was wanting to run for the nearest door and not stop until I felt I was safely out of arms and ears reach of this woman, it didn't help that much of our dishes were made of duck of some sort, which I am not a huge fan of since it's generally fatty. The food was ok, nothing special to write about. I have never been back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikaNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hard to review.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hong Hua has great food (love the General Tso's chicken). There are some problems. Sometimes the service is less than stellar. One table will get better service than another. The staff (when not very busy) sit around and don't come to find out if you need anything during the meal. The prices are higher than most Chinese restaurants but the food is always fresh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twidgetbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F.H., MI
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pride Goes Without a Fall is correct!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

"Pride Goes Without A Fall" is correct! They have insinuated that it was my fault that the order was wrong. I even have driven the food back to show them that they gave me the wrong food. Very arrogant people. It has slipped within the last year. Restaurant of the year did go to their heads!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalamaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food with seemingly high quality ingredients”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Three of us ate here and we ordered 3 meals to share. Overall, the food was very good, starting with the hot and sour soup which was excellent. We had beef and broccoli, a chicken dish, and seafood lo mien. Each of the dishes was tasty, the quality was very good (too often Chinese food seems to use tough beef cuts), and the service was good. Overall, I would most definitely recommend eating here and would certainly return. The prices were a bit high ($15/dish range), but not as bad as I was lead to believe from some of the other reviews.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Hua also viewed

Farmington Hills, MI
 
Farmington Hills, MI
 

Been to Hong Hua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing