We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new look, good food”
Review of Morels - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Morels
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Northwestern Highway & 14 Mile Rd
Description: this is a Matt Prentice restaurant
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great new look, good food”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had drinks and appetizers at the bar. Bartender was a little "offish", maybe just having a bad day? The mushroom sampler appetizer was delicious. I would HIGHLY recommend the mushroom bisque. The chip and dip app was not bad either! Wine list by the glass could be improved. Nice, new interior, nice decor. Has a semi-private room for smaller parties.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheeeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“another Detroit themed restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Its OK. It is a nice alternative to the local chain restaurants. A lot of local Detroit photo themes. The interior isn't exciting but it does have a bar area at the heart of the restaurant. The food is better than most chains and is reasonably priced.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As good as before!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food was as good as the previous restaurant on Telegraph. The atmosphere spoke fine dining, which it is. Great food, attractive presentation, good service. What more can one want?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Morels was as good as I read about”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stopped in when I was in the area because of the reviews about their mushroom bisque. I admit it was wonderful and I will make the trip to have just that now that I have experienced it. The service was good, we was seated right away and wait staff was prompt and professional. Only issue I had is that they serve luke warm water, but I asked for ice and I was brought a glass promptly.

Had the Lobster Mac and Cheese as a starter and it was fabulous. Huge chunks of lobster and plenty cheesey. Had the Chicken and dumplings and it was tasty and satisfying. I was hoping to save room for dessert but the bread basket prevented that. Looking forward to going back and sampling several more items.

Parking is a little weird because they share a lot with Detroit Prime and even though the restaurant was not packed on a Thursday night the parking was sparse. People for Detroit Prime were parked in several of the spots.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smith51163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, mich
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, very good service, poor wine selections”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My mother, sister, brother in law and I went here on a friday night to try out the relocated restaurant. It went on a several year hiatus, and I am glad it is back. The decadent wild mushroom bisque is back (albeit not quite as rich as before- but thats a good thing). The selection of appetizers and menu is good but interesting. I had a special wood smoked strip steak that was excellent. Everybody enjoyed the food overall. The waiter was excellent, tended to our needs. The busboys need a little work.

This restaurant is owned by Matt Prentiss who has broken off from the Epicurean Group- formerly the Matt Prentiss Group- they parted ways so the restarant IS NOT in the same group as the Coach Insignia etc. as one reviewer has stated

Now the disappointment- the wine selections. First they had very limited by the glass selections. Their house wines are by Cartlidge and Browne- and are frankly junk- a restaurant of this caliber should not these on the list. Second their mid level cabernet sauvignon by the glass was not in stock. So the only DECENT cabernet was $ 25 a glass!!!!!
I discussed this with the sommelier who was quite snippy and said the waiter should have steered me to the Merlot. Well, I didn't want a merlot...

Come on Matt- get a new sommelier and a better wine list, this place deserves it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avalonandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morels also viewed

 
Farmington Hills, MI
Farmington Hills, MI
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing