We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and room but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had to check out a day early and couldnt get a refund, full or partial. Was told to call Monday and speak to a manager. I called several times but the phone kept ringing. That was disappointing to not get any money back especially since my early checkout was before 7 pm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica B, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I would be more than happy to take a look at your reservation. I have not received any calls or voicemails in regards to this. Perhaps there was a problem with our phones if there was no answer at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 330 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've stayed in a few different "extended-stay" type hotels with the mini-suite and kitchenette design. There was only one other of these hotel types in the nearby Novi area that I've stayed in, and this one is much better than that one was.

I like having the full size refrigerator available, just in case I have leftovers from a nearby restaurant.

There are a few issues with the recent hotel name change that I noticed... the biggest one was that there was no guide to theTV channels available. The guy at the front desk didn't have a sheet with the channel line-up, and there was no booklet in the room with this type of information. There is a fairly good selection of channels, including HBO, The Travel Channel, HGTV, Food Network, Discovery, National Geographic, History Channel, a few sports and business channels... probably about 50+ in all.

There was a slightly noticeable smell to the room, but it wasn't overwhelming, or particularly bad (it kinda reminded me of the smell of my aunt and uncle's house, so it was actually a little relaxing to me). The room (326) is adjacent to the elevator, but the mechanical noise from the elevator equipment wasn't too loud, but you could hear a slight thump every once in a while.

The location of this hotel is RIGHT NEXT to the expressway, but there is no direct access to the expressway. A word of advice: Be sure to print out a map and study the expressway exits nearby or you could easily get turned around in the multiple lanes of the I-696, and 96, Expressway 5, I-275, Grand River and Twelve Mile road spaghetti-junction of intertwined roadways.

The free morning breakfast selections are limited to mini-muffins, Orange Juice, Granola Bars and Coffee.

This hotel is clean, and is a step above the basic two-star rated hotel. Interior corridors are safe and quiet. I didn't notice any kids running around the halls like you will find at many of the Novi-Livonia-Farmington Hills area 3 star properties.

Room Tip: Select a room opposite the Expressway on the third or fourth floor for a quiet experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica B, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
The hotel is slated to go through a major renovation this summer and we will be putting in a full breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Velaug H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Rahman M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Veronica B, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Veronica B, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice, confortable hotel close to freeway and major attractions. Very quiet street located at end of office complex street. Fairly new appointments with very confortable beds. Flat screen TV's with good channel line-up.

Room Tip: Request room opposite freeway, since it is very noisy if A/C not on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orlando_Abby950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Irfan A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farmington Hills hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Farmington Hills
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit F...
#1 of 13 in Farmington Hills
211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Nov...
#8 of 13 in Farmington Hills
182 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Farmington Hills
Comfort Inn Farmington Hills
#6 of 13 in Farmington Hills
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Farmington Hills
Extended Stay America - Detroit ...
#9 of 13 in Farmington Hills
95 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills
Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmingto...
#3 of 13 in Farmington Hills
409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
#7 of 13 in Farmington Hills
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills

Address: 37555 Hills Tech Dr, Farmington Hills, MI 48331-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Farmington Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Price Range: $72 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our newly renovated hotel.Business and leisure travelers alike will find our hotel designed with fully equipped kitchens, free guest laundry facilities, fitness center, free high-speed Internet, generous work area and recliners to be just like home after a long day of business or fun. Our friendly staff is always welcoming and believes in service with a smile! Conveniently located near corporate offices including Nissan, Bosch, Ryder, Amerisure, Calsonics, Alcoa, ITC, Allstate, Hewlett Packard, MI CAT as well as many others. Shopping and restaurants are all within a mile radius of the hotel. Nearby expressways allow for quick access to many destinations including Suburban Collection Showplace Novi and other locations of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Farmington Hills Hotel Farmington Hills
Candlewood Suites Farmington Hills
Candlewood Farmington Hills
Farmington Hills Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing