We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to some details needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
WAUWATOSA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Attention to some details needed”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while attending a dog show in the area. Joyful (the showdog) loves Hawthorn Suites and the quiet locations. We received a warm welcome upon arrival and were given a room at the end of the hall near an exit which is very helpful with a dog. The hotel was quiet, although a little traffic noise could be heard from the nearby Interstate. The room was clean and stocked. The housekeeping seemed to be "forgetful". I left an empty tissue box on the toilet seat so it could be seen for a replacement. Returned to the room to find the empty box on the toilet tank (??). Bathroom and living area trash emptied with only a few tissues in them but not the FULL kitchen trash. Some days the floor was done, some not. Coffee was never replenshed. The coffee pot broke so I left a note on it AND a $2 tip. When I returned the money was gone as well as the pot, dirty kitchen linens gone but no replacements on either. These are not big problems and I would certainly return here but it was starting to get annoying. On the other hand, the front desk staff, quickly and apologetically handled each of my problems. There is supposed to be a "grab n go" breakfast but I never saw anything offered besides coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank sallyann73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    88
    64
    29
    23
See reviews for
77
36
30
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LADSON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The facility was clean. The staff was friendly. Daily towel change out. We had two small problems that were taken care of right away. The free breakfast was only muffins, granola bars, and juice. We understand that Wyndham had only recently taken over the facility and were going to improve on this issue. Bathroom only had one small shelf in it for storing toiletries. Still, our stay had good value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT_AND_SHARON_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I'm usually pretty easy to please. Give me a clean room and smile and say hello when you see me. That alone would be worth a 3 rating to me. When I checked in the front desk clerk actually asked me to wait while he had a smoke. I almost fell over I was so shocked. I eventually got past that fact and asked the clerk if there was anywhere near to watch a football game on tv (sports bar). He then told me he wasn't from the area and had no idea. He made no effort to look for me and stood there with a look that made me feel I was wasting his time. The room was small and kitchen lacked any function. The old box tv was laughable. Room was dirty. The only thing I found surprising was they actually had decent internet speed, but that could never make up for the service. I was hoping the poor service was just the evening clerk, but the morning clerk never even looked up at me when I was checking out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsheldon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel location is a little off from the highway and quiet, which I liked it. Room was reasonably clean and maybe recently refinished, including bathroom. I expected better breakfast, but it offered just mini muffins, granola bars and fuit juice bottle. Coffee machine is there for free. A small self service store is next to the front desk for some drink, snack and so on. I stayed 5 nights, but house keeper never came. This was what I was told at check-in time, but not thought about even towels were not changed - well, i should have asked for that if really wanted. I could hear some walking noise from upstairs. Over all, I liked it except cold breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Black87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington Hills
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Farmington Hills
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit F...
#1 of 12 in Farmington Hills
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Nov...
#5 of 12 in Farmington Hills
176 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills
Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmingto...
#3 of 12 in Farmington Hills
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Farmington Hills
Extended Stay America - Detroit ...
#8 of 12 in Farmington Hills
79 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Farmington Hills
Comfort Inn Farmington Hills
#6 of 12 in Farmington Hills
66 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at ...
#1 of 1 in Commerce Township
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills
Address: 37555 Hills Tech Dr, Farmington Hills, MI 48331-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Farmington Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our newly renovated hotel.Business and leisure travelers alike will find our hotel designed with fully equipped kitchens, free guest laundry facilities, fitness center, free high-speed Internet, generous work area and recliners to be just like home after a long day of business or fun. Our friendly staff is always welcoming and believes in service with a smile! Conveniently located near corporate offices including Nissan, Bosch, Ryder, Amerisure, Calsonics, Alcoa, ITC, Allstate, Hewlett Packard, MI CAT as well as many others. Shopping and restaurants are all within a mile radius of the hotel. Nearby expressways allow for quick access to many destinations including Suburban Collection Showplace Novi and other locations of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Farmington Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Farmington Hills Hotel Farmington Hills
Candlewood Suites Farmington Hills
Candlewood Farmington Hills
Farmington Hills Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing