We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aug 3 rd”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Flat rock,mi
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Aug 3 rd”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The front desk was great ,this is the 3rd year I have stayed here the rooms need to be upgraded.,carpet was dirty and worn.The hallways do not have air.The TV need upgrading as they were getting darker and darker.No plugs for electronic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    21
    11
    2
See reviews for
30
29
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albany
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Made reservations online as part of our cross country trip. The worst stay our entire trip! The staff was not pleasant. Room was below average, felt cramped, carpets burnt. Really, the room was drab and old. We were given a 2nd floor room, preferred one on the first floor since we had a lot of luggage and was told, " no. put it online next time." We had black coffee and waited to leave to get anything to eat. Printed out directions from the computer and was charged for them. If you need a place to stay, choose anywhere BUT here, or stay in your car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Escanaba hotels

uniongrove
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here in route to Mackinaw City.There is no pool but we arrived late and we were very pleased with quietness and cleaniness of rooms. Rate were great and breakfast was good.. I would diffintely go back again if we were in this area.

Room Tip: I got a better deal through internet then direct cointact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

While this is not the Marriot, we find the rooms very clean, roomy and perfect for a place to stay for a short visit. The desk personnel have always been accommodating and, for example, on our last stay when we were given a second floor room and preferred one on the first floor, the clerk cheerfully changed the keys and receipt to a room on the ground floor. Cheerfully is the key word.

Continental breakfast is what you'd expect, although they do have waffles and hard boiled eggs, two extras that many places don't have.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maybepat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stopped here on the way back from South Dakota. Selected based on price from airline website. This is a good selection. Convenience to highway and many places to eat. Room was average but above average for price. Breakfast is below average for comparative continental offerings. In general, if you need a place to stay along the road and just want a quiet nights sleep, this place works.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancCabernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

me & my family stayed their for 2 nights, the room was on the small side, our room had 2 queen beds in it, the room was very clean and no bugs of any kind. it is great for any one that is on a buddget. we would stay their again, and would tell others to stay their as well. they change the towels and bed sheets every day while you are their. we stayed their june 22 and 23rd of 2012

Room Tip: good place to stay if you are looking for a nice friendly place and clean rooms and no bugs of any k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superangel0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We just needed a place to stay on our way across the UP. We didn't expect much from the Econolodge, and it was about what we expected. The room was moderately clean, the staff seemed a little annoyed to have to wait on us (we DID arrive around 10:00 pm; thought we'd be there sooner). There was a hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. We had trouble getting the volume on the television to go down, but the remote worked otherwise. It was quiet and we got a decent night's sleep. I wouldn't stay there more than the single night we did, because Econolodges in general are just not very plush - but it was fine for what it was... a step up from a motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessInArmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
1.4 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
799 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#7 of 10 in Escanaba
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hiawatha Motel
Hiawatha Motel
#4 of 10 in Escanaba
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 921 N Lincoln Rd, Escanaba, MI 49829-1500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge hotel located next to the Upper Peninsula State Fairgrounds. We guarantee affordable rates, and have convenient location very close to shopping, restaurants and places of interests in and around Escanaba. Feel relaxed and at home in our inviting guest rooms, all of which have been remodled and refurbished with new bedding, carpets and drapes. Also enjoy brand new flat screen televisions with HBO. Additional amenities include: •Free continental breakfast that includes, Fresh fruits Fresh Waffles, boiled eggs, bagels, cheese, peanut butter, breads, juice, cereals and much more •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free coffee 24/7•Free local calls Take care of basic business needs with access to copy and fax services, and for added convenience, free parking is available onsite. This Econo Lodge hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Make your reservation today at the Econo Lodge in Escanaba, MI for an enjoyable stay in a great location, all at an affordable price. Our pet-friendly hotel is ideally located a mile from Bay De Noc Community College near many area points of interest, which include: •Delta County Historical Society •Sand Point Lighthouse •Pioneer Trail Park •Wells Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Escanaba
Escanaba Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing