We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“I would stay here again”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed in a double queen room on the first floor. Clean room & bathroom, plenty of towels and linens for the adults, comfortable beds and pillows. Nice average sized room. Ate at the restaurant/bar and the Italian food was good and the portions were large and the service was prompt and friendly. The pool was very nice and clean and had all of the required safety equipment and emergency phone numbers by a phone, several chairs and tables were in the pool area also. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to park by our room window. The free breakfast was very good, with hot scrambled eggs, sausage links, potatoes, French toast sticks. A toaster was available to toast bread. Coffee, tea, orange juice, milk, etc. something for everyone in the family. They offered express check-out with your invoice under the door in the early AM, for you convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keltic2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    84
    60
    23
    11
See reviews for
85
77
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maple City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough about the best mattress I've ever slept on. The pillows are awesome!!! I wanted to stay here last year and the year before when I was traveling but the Best Western doesn't allow pets. I was alright with the policy. Now, my little buddies sleep so I get to stay in the Best Western. The hotel is immaculate, clean, and ready for use. The staff and management were very courteous and friendly. I even received a bottle of water today (I don't know if that's usual practice, so don't count on it). The Best Western is located near myriad restaurants and shopping centers for your convienance. Thanks for a great stay and an awesome rest.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

When we had company we recommended this hotel to them as This best western is easily located on the main highway. The parking lot is blacktopped, well lit, large and they can accommodate large vehicles. This review is based on what they told me. The front desk was inviting, staff was friendly, the hallway bright, was clean and The room was up to date. With a very comfortable bed. On their final night we met at this hotel restaurant for dinner. The food in the restaurant exceeded expectations. The dining staff was knowledgable regarding the food selections. Later into our dining experience, The chef came out of the kitchen to ask our opinion on our selections. I have allergies and the waitress was careful to make those notations for the chef.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great place an area for shopping...close to Shopco. The bar and dining room are AOK! Upper rooms have balconies..which we like! We were on a stopover to Harbor Springs, Mi..so from Minnesota, it was a great stop!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rene49__11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently had 13 10year olds in Escanaba for a softball tournament---the people at the Escanaba Best Western were awesome! Great owners and a great place to stay in a great location! Had one issue with hot water due to so many teams staying in the hotel, but the owners made everything right and were fantastic in dealing with that issue. They also provided us a conference room for the girls and moved in TV's so they had some entertainment. Overall, would highly recommend staying here when you travel to Esky!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_MZ9836RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Best Western Pioneer Inn and Suites in Escanaba, Michigan. A beautiful little town nestled on Lake Michigan. Our stay at the Best Western was an added bonus. The staff was very nice, rooms were clean, clean, clean and great beds and pillows! Very Important! We had dinner in their dining room and they offered great meals with local fresh fish, my husband and I shared a Perch Dinner and Walleye Dinner and the service was great and food was great. The next night we were going to go elsewhere but ended up after a day of exploring the town in the cozy Pub having a very good pizza. I would recommend Escanaba and the Best Western for a quiet little get away.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a sofa and desk in the back of the hotel, very quiet, good sleeping even wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJG111955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is older, the carpets worn and the staff overworked. The food was only so and so. Considering that the fees for the weekend were more expensive than any other Best Western we have stayed at, I would skip this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
93 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Escanaba
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hiawatha Motel
Hiawatha Motel
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites

Property: Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Address: 2635 Ludington St, Escanaba, MI 49829-1332 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites! Looking for a quiet getaway? The Magnuson Grand provides a great night's sleep and much more! Grab a bite to eat and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere at Pacino's, our hotel restaurant. Our property is conveniently located on the west end of Escanaba. We provide the perfect answer for the business traveler, tourist, sportsman, and senior citizen. Located just minutes from the mall, Family Fun Park, cinema, and downtown. Also located only two miles from Ludington Park on Little Bay de Noc, the beach and the greatest walleye fishing in the U.P. Nature is all around us! Our hotel is minutes from the water and hiking/ORV trails. Enjoy a round of golf at one of our five area courses, all located within ten miles of our property. Our friendly staff is here to ensure that you have a wonderful vacation. SORRY, WE DO NOT ACCEPT PETS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Escanaba
Escanaba Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing