We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not authentic Mexican” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferdinand's Mexican Restaurant

Ferdinand's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 62 Restaurants in Escanaba
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gladstone
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not authentic Mexican”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Don't ask to get the taco salad your way because if you do, they will come out with a "cup" of lettuce and very little toppings and still charge you full price. My husband ordered a combo plate and had more lettuce on his plate than I did on my whole salad!

Helpful?
1 Thank WW6971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    4
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to go with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very tasty chips and salsa, and fun Spanish decor but no music playing. Looked to have several different rooms possibly for private functions. Service was average, value for the yummy food was good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerraceandSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upper michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“the best salsa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our go-to restaurant...we love this place. The slasa is my favorite anywhere..it's made right there and their weekday buffet is awesome

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jodijo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwinn, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Did not seem like Mexican food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We ate from the buffet - the food was luke-warm and did not taste like Mexican food. We had heard it was the best in the area - but we noticed there is a lack of Mexican food places in the UP.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We eat here about once a month for dinner & always have a good meal. It's fresh, great homemade salsa & guacamole. Haven't been to the buffet in a awhile, but they used to have quite a selection (soup, salad, soft & hard tacos, 2 types of chimis, & the best choc. chip cookies.
If the food wasn't good as 2 reviewers stated, then why is the place always busy for dinner on the weekends? My biggest complaint is sometimes it takes awhile to get your food bcz it is so busy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferdinand's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Ferdinand's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing