We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not seem like Mexican food”

Ferdinand's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 64 Restaurants in Escanaba
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Gwinn, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Did not seem like Mexican food”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We ate from the buffet - the food was luke-warm and did not taste like Mexican food. We had heard it was the best in the area - but we noticed there is a lack of Mexican food places in the UP.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    5
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escanaba
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yum”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We eat here about once a month for dinner & always have a good meal. It's fresh, great homemade salsa & guacamole. Haven't been to the buffet in a awhile, but they used to have quite a selection (soup, salad, soft & hard tacos, 2 types of chimis, & the best choc. chip cookies.
If the food wasn't good as 2 reviewers stated, then why is the place always busy for dinner on the weekends? My biggest complaint is sometimes it takes awhile to get your food bcz it is so busy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I couldn't tell it was Mexican Food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The lunch beffet was tasteless and over cooked. Three items tacos, chili and chimichangas do not make a buffet. More like a taco bar. Everything was overcooked and flavorless. I would not eat here again if it was free.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tasteless Mexican Food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

There was no flavor to anything. They have a buffet on occasion which is just as poor as the menu items. We have tried them numerous times as they are the only Mexican restaurant in the area. We just cook Mexican at home now to avoid the frustration.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gniedermaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigans Upper Peninsula
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Really good mexican food in an informal atmosphere. The enchiladas were excellent and the marguerita (on the rocks, not blended) was killer!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yooper011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferdinand's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Ferdinand's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing