We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By Far the Best Hotel In the UP”
Review of House of Ludington

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Escanaba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of Ludington
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Green Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“By Far the Best Hotel In the UP”
Reviewed December 21, 2007

This hotel was everything that I had expected and more. I read the reviews and did some research before making my reservation. I have to clear up some of the negative reviews:

1) Not having any shampoo in the showers: There is a room located on the 2nd floor that has everything you need. You just take a stop and grab whatever you need. There is also an iron and hair dryers and curling irons.

2) Having the view of an old buildings roof. You get what you pay for. If you want the view of the bay, then pay the extra twenty dollars instead of writing a negative review.

Overall, I thought this hotel is a great getaway from chain hotels and restaurants. It is great to step back into a place full of history. Places like this do not come around often and there for should be visited.

  • Liked — Service, Family owned, Not a chain hotel, food, historic building and decor
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank summertravel_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    7
    9
    14
See reviews for
20
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2007

The House of Ludington was a really neat and interesting place to stay. The owners were very nice and helpful, dinner in the restaurant was great and the portions were huge.

We stayed on a cold and misrable weeknight, and, I believe we may have been the only guests staying that night. At about 10pm on this stormy night we decided to wander around. The owners leave all the empty guest room doors open so you can check them out. Each is different and decorateced nicely. All the room lights were out , and we didnt turn any on as we crept about and checked the place out. We succeded in scaring ourselves a bit, but all we saw or heard was in our imaginations.

Keep in mind, this is a really old hotel, thus the air, heat and water systems are older, but we were very comfortable the night we stayed. Only complaint I had about the room was the shower. It was REALLY strong....almost blasted me out.

We definitly plan on staying again next time we are in the area.

  • Liked — Hostorical and fun to explore
  • Disliked — Shower was llike being blasted by a firehouse.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed only one night but felt like we were visiting in a relatives guest room. the room was huge and furnished with a fun and tasteful collection of various pieces that could have been from anyone's home including a very comfortable recliner chair. It's an old hotel now owned by a couple for 10 years, and as such is not your usual chain, which we like. they operate an on-site restaurant and bar and we had a great dinner for a very reasonable price. It was very late in the season and we practically had the place to ourselves. It's not a luxury hotel and the bathrooms are not fancy, but it's clean and friendly, and the bed was clean and comfortable. If you like to try something a little different with some character, this place is for you. We'd return without hesitation. It's a great value, especially for the price. If you prefer the predictability of Hilton, Hyatt and Marriot, maybe this isn't for you.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

We decided to stay here instead of the chain hotels to get a better feel for Escanaba on our trip around Lake Michigan. The hotel is in a nice location, walking distance to the marina, park and beach. The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was lacking. The shower stall had stains on the top and there were no toiletries. I had packed shampoo, but did not anticipate needing to bring soap.

It is clear that the restaurant located with the hotel brings in the money, the front desk is open from 11:30 AM-9PM, when the restaurnat is open for lunch and dinner. If you want ice, check in at the restaurant.

While we did not have a "bad" experience, I would just recommend adjusting your expectations if you plan to stay at the hotel. I have stayed at B & B's before as well as local hotels, so my only point of reference is not chain hotels.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Made reservation 2 months before trip to ensure good rooms with lakeview. Room reservation was secured with a credit card and we were billed for the room reserved. When we arrived at 5:00 PM our room had been given to someone else, host apologized but did didn't think it was any big deal. He offered us one of 2 rooms left in the hotel and told us we would be credited for the difference in price. We were told the room available has Queen bed, it didn't it had full beds, not very comfortable. The room was semi-clean with peeling paint and wallpaper. There was also an unidentified unpleasant odor in the room. The view was of a roof covered in bird droppings enclosed by the deteriorating walls of the building. I have not yet seen any refund of room rate.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — shabby, clenliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Escanaba hotels

Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2007

I stayed here at the advice of the owner of Canterbury Books, a charming little bookstore down the road from the House of Ludington. I found the owner of the hotel, Ed. to be very personable. All the doors of the unoccupied rooms are left open and you are free to pick your own room! The restaurant has a wonderful selection and the food is great. I plan on booking another stay at this hotel shortly.

Don't forget to ask about the ghost of Patrick Hayes!

  • Liked — charming rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We found the House of Ludington Hotel to be fun and interesting. Owners Ed and Suzell were personally welcoming and attentive to our every need. The Hotel is historic and restored to the style of its original era. This hotel does have the first glass elevator ever in the state of Michigan and Yes; it still works just fine. The rooms have window unit air conditioners and keep the rooms quite comfortable on warm nights. Each room is decorated in a different delightful style. We had read stories about a resident ghost, but he didn’t make himself known to us. The hotel is across from the city park, which fronts Lake Michigan, and some rooms have a view of the lake. We enjoyed dinner in the hotel’s dining room and loved every morsel. Suzell came by the table and gave us ideas about things to do and see in our travels the following day. These are not luxury accommodations, but a welcome diversion from the chain motels in town.

  • Liked — The interesting stories that go with this historic hotel
  • Disliked — We were not able stay long enough to explore the entire place
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giggleshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
1.9 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
774 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hiawatha Motel
Hiawatha Motel
#5 of 10 in Escanaba
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Ludington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Ludington

Property: House of Ludington
Address: 223 Ludington St, Escanaba, MI 49829-4027
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
House Of Ludington Hotel Escanaba
Hotel Of Ludington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing