We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our choice for stay on our way back home.”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our choice for stay on our way back home.”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I drove from the Minneapolis area back to home in southern MI. We decided to break up the trip and stay at the Comfort Suites (Choice Hotel) in Escanaba. The accommodations were simple and just what we were looking for considering the need to sleep, eat breakfast and go. We paid $80 for a standard room with a king size bed, which we thought was reasonable. The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning included bagels, waffles, hot and cold cereal, eggs and a few other things. I would recommend the Comfort Suites to anyone looking for a short stay in the Escanaba area. There aren't any choices for a luxurious stay in that area, so book a room at the Comfort Suites! It's comfy!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank antzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    88
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
72
45
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here one night. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean except for the comforter on the bed, that was gross and in desprate need of a good washing. I just threw it off and slept without it. Matress was comfortable. Breakfast was ok....they offered bacon but no hot eggs, just boiled which was disappointing to me. The rooms seem a little pricey for what they are, I think you could find a better value somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethesunMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We regularly visit family in Escanaba and this is our favorite place to stay in the area. Pool is great. Service is great. Breakfast is great. They keep it clean and well maintained.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SBC97223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I agree with the poster who says this is the best hotel in Escanaba. This is a straightforward, clean, comfortable place that is exactly as their website says. I have been to fancier hotels, but this had everything hubby, son, and I needed. Free wireless internet, cable TV with lots of choices (including HBO), free breakfast (including bacon & eggs -- not just cold cereal and juice), comfy beds, nice clean bathrooms and a shower with an adjustable spray head. We had adjoining rooms and together they gave us alot of space. One room is big enough too with 2 Queen size beds and a sofa bed. We also liked the microwave (popcorn!) and refrigerator in the room. Although we don't drink coffee, there was a coffeemaker too. Nice desk area (because I had to keep up with things at the office). I think you cannot go wrong in Escanaba at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

If you've travelled in Michigan's Upper Peninsula, you know that the beauty of the area is only compromised by the incredibly lacking hotel and restaurant facilities. We are not campers, we like a nice hotel to stay in after a day of "roughing it" in the wilderness. Unfortuntaely, nice hotels are few and far between in Yooper territory. We booked the Comfort Suites for an overnight as we passed through the UP on our way to lower Michigan. We couldn't find any ratings of any hotels in this area, so it was a crap shoot. I have to say that we were very pleasantly surprised at the accomodations. The room was huge and very clean. The hotel itself was comfortably appointed, nothing spectacular; but it was updated and looked nice. There is an enormous indoor pool area that appears to be the draw for all of the families who are staying there. If we were headed through Escanaba again, I would definitely stay at this hotel. I would probably even drive to it if my tourism was within an hour....there's not much else around that area, and my motto is "better safe than sorry!"

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nealfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Outstanding cleanliness and friendliness. Can't beat the beds for comfort. They got their name honestly! Pool, hallway, you name it - spotless! Stayed here both directions on a trip from Michigan to Wisconsin. Would do so again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OctoberMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2010

This hotel was clean and comfortable for our visit to Escanaba. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and well-stocked with toiletries. We took full advantage of the in-room refrigerator and microwave which allowed us to save money by eating in. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and allowed us a late afternoon check-out. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
0.5 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hiawatha Motel
Hiawatha Motel
#5 of 10 in Escanaba
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 3600 Ludington St, Escanaba, MI 49829-4220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites, an Escanaba hotel near the Upper Peninsula State Fair Grounds. The Comfort Suites® hotel is perfectly located within two miles of downtown Escanaba, the Upper Peninsula State Fair Grounds and Bay College, also known as Bay de Noc Community College. This Escanaba, MI hotel is minutes from William Bonifas Arts Center and Island Casino. The charming city of Escanaba is located in Delta County along beautiful Lake Michigan, providing visitors with many attractions, historic lighthouses and museums. Enjoy shopping at the Delta Plaza Mall, located one mile away. The Delta County Airport is also only one mile away. Several movie theaters, a bowling alley and hospital are nearby. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Escanaba Hotel Escanaba
Escanaba Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing