We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the very low rate but not for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Reviewed September 9, 2010

This motel delivers a lot of value for a very low rate and I would stay there again for that reason but it is not for everyone. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and passed my bed bug check, and the room was spacious and mostly clean. The free breakfast included boiled eggs, fruit and muffins. On the minus side, the motel is run down and needs updating. The top sheets on the beds were so worn you could see through them and there was some mold on the shower curtain. We rejected the first room offered to us because the fastener on the window (1st floor) was broken and the window could easily be opened from the outside. A desk clerk told us the owner was aware of the problem but if so why did they try to rent it to us? I am suspicious of the reviews of this motel which are highly favorable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesnoyerPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 91 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

In December of 2008 my family stayed at this hotel on Christmas Eve. We had booked our room online prior to our arrival. When we got there, they told us that they needed a credit card for "incidental expenses." When the credit card bill arrived we were billed twice for the same nights stay. I called and spoke with the hotel's owner. He personally told me he would take care of everything. The next month, the same thing happened. The third month, I called again except this time the owner refused to return my calls. At this point the credit card company would not help since it had been too long and I could not obtain a proof of credit from the establishment. I have called over a dozen times. Written mutliple letters only to never get a penny back for them charging us 2 times for the same nights stay. This is a dirty hotel owned by people who will rip you off even on Christmas!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBartoszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

great stay. Clean, quiet, good breakast of waffles, eggs, muffins

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6deers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This place is not a good place to stay. Here are the items I found deficient in merely the time it took to unload my luggage and deliver it to the room:

* The hallways smelled very bad
* The rear entrance/exit door's security lock is inoperative.
* The room smelled worse than the hallways
* The carpet in the room was stained badly
* The air conditioner in the room pumped what smelled like moldy air in
* The sink was chipped
* The concrete sidewalks are chipped and in bad repair
* The furniture in the room is old and dated

The nice young man at the front desk offered to show me another room, but the hallways smelled so bad and the place is in such disrepair, I couldn't bear to stay. He tried to remove the charges from my credit card, but I'd made my reservations through AAA and now must try to get reimbursed through Travelocity.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mikeflht88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I'm always hesitant to stay at a hotel I've not been to before, however, I must say I was very impressed with Americas Best Value Inn in Escanaba. Beginning with the friendly staff, to the clean room and the variety of the continental breakfast, I couldn't ask for a better place to stay for the price. It truly was a home away from home. I would certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends; and stay there again given the opportunity to pass through the U.P. again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy8893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The rooms were extremely clean and just the right size for my family. I was able to sleep peacefully without any disturbances. It is located in the heart of Escanaba, so everything is within a few miles away. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelseabug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I recently visited the Upper Peninsula and stayed at America's Best Value Inn in Escanaba. It was friendly and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilyn074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
8.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
9.0 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#7 of 10 in Escanaba
364 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
833 reviews
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba

Address: 2301 N Lincoln Rd, Escanaba, MI 49829-9460 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range: $65 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover Escanaba, Michigan, a charming, small town located just minutes away from the new Delta County Historical Society of downtown Escanaba, Michigan. Country Hearth Inn Escanaba is ideally located a few miles away from Escanaba Marina Harbor Master. Top attractions in the area include Wise Amusements, Catherine Bonifas Civic Center, and Family Fun Park Inc. Enjoy a day of history at the restored Sand Point Lighthouse, built in 1867, one of the oldest and most historic buildings in the area. Country Hearth Inn Escanaba offers many amenities such as a picnic area, on-site BBQ grills, on-site guest laundry facility, and newsstand in lobby. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with a free cup of coffee in our lobby. Take a refreshing dip in our heated indoor pool or take advantage of our business center equipped with computer. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our free Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. Each of our guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, satellite TV, HBO, ESPN, desk with lamp, and alarm clock radio. A hairdryer, iron, and ironing board are available upon request. Country Hearth Inn Escanaba is your best choice within part of the Memphis metropolitan area, and is located directly across the Mississippi River from Memphis. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, business, or sightseeing. At Country Hearth Inn Escanaba, our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Country Hearth Inn Escanaba, Expect More. Get More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing