We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A place to sleep”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I got this hotel at a fairly good price for the area by a name-your-own-price situation. It is on the North end of Escanaba in a relatively quiet area.

Pros: Large room, clean, quiet, friendly staff, free breakfast.

Cons: Hard bed, flat pillows, room was cold on arrival.

I think I could have bumped the review up one more notch if the bed had a decent mattress pad and a better pillow. The furniture was ok. The chair and bed comforter were stained, but they seemed clean, just unsightly. The room was freezing when we got there, and the heat is baseboard, so it is slow to crank up. We turned on the heat and left for dinner and the room was warm enough by the time we got back. The hotel was quiet, though, and the front desk folks very nice. Would probably dish out more money to stay somewhere else next time, though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flat_Earther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    15
    11
    26
See reviews for
25
23
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were in Escanaba for a family function and reserved two rooms. The rooms were dirty (bathroom, carpet, walls, and ceiling). The rooms also smelled of animal urine. The hot tub was green and the jets did not work. When we told the clerk about the hot tub issues, she said, "well it's hot". The high speed internet did not work at all in the one room and very spotty in the other room. We decided to change hotels, the clerk approved the cancellation of our reservations, and we were told that the charge on our credit card would be refunded, it wasn't. After 10 days, 4 phone calls, and some very heated words, by the hotel staff, the manager finally agreed to refund the charges. This was definitely the worst hotel stay of my life!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyO3953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. There is never an excuse for providing anything other than good service and a clean room to our guest. We would like you to know that we have addressed your concerns with our staff and have taken care of the issues. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Escanaba hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I'm told that there are very few good hotels in the Escanaba area for a reasonable price, but this one just didn't meet my standards. Rooms and hallways smelled bad and were filled with old, outdated furniture. Everything just seemed dirty ... our mattress had blood stains on the edge. I was afraid to let our young child crawl around the room. On the plus side, the staff was pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank originalcynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We continually strive to improve our hotel and your comments give us input to do so. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with parts of your stay and we have addressed these issues with our staff. Please come back in the future to see the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

This motel delivers a lot of value for a very low rate and I would stay there again for that reason but it is not for everyone. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and passed my bed bug check, and the room was spacious and mostly clean. The free breakfast included boiled eggs, fruit and muffins. On the minus side, the motel is run down and needs updating. The top sheets on the beds were so worn you could see through them and there was some mold on the shower curtain. We rejected the first room offered to us because the fastener on the window (1st floor) was broken and the window could easily be opened from the outside. A desk clerk told us the owner was aware of the problem but if so why did they try to rent it to us? I am suspicious of the reviews of this motel which are highly favorable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesnoyerPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

In December of 2008 my family stayed at this hotel on Christmas Eve. We had booked our room online prior to our arrival. When we got there, they told us that they needed a credit card for "incidental expenses." When the credit card bill arrived we were billed twice for the same nights stay. I called and spoke with the hotel's owner. He personally told me he would take care of everything. The next month, the same thing happened. The third month, I called again except this time the owner refused to return my calls. At this point the credit card company would not help since it had been too long and I could not obtain a proof of credit from the establishment. I have called over a dozen times. Written mutliple letters only to never get a penny back for them charging us 2 times for the same nights stay. This is a dirty hotel owned by people who will rip you off even on Christmas!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBartoszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6deers
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

great stay. Clean, quiet, good breakast of waffles, eggs, muffins

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6deers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This place is not a good place to stay. Here are the items I found deficient in merely the time it took to unload my luggage and deliver it to the room:

* The hallways smelled very bad
* The rear entrance/exit door's security lock is inoperative.
* The room smelled worse than the hallways
* The carpet in the room was stained badly
* The air conditioner in the room pumped what smelled like moldy air in
* The sink was chipped
* The concrete sidewalks are chipped and in bad repair
* The furniture in the room is old and dated

The nice young man at the front desk offered to show me another room, but the hallways smelled so bad and the place is in such disrepair, I couldn't bear to stay. He tried to remove the charges from my credit card, but I'd made my reservations through AAA and now must try to get reimbursed through Travelocity.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeflht88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.1 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#6 of 10 in Escanaba
331 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 2301 N Lincoln Rd, Escanaba, MI 49829-9460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover Escanaba, Michigan, a charming, small town located just minutes away from the new Delta County Historical Society of downtown Escanaba, Michigan. Country Hearth Inn Escanaba is ideally located a few miles away from Escanaba Marina Harbor Master. Top attractions in the area include Wise Amusements, Catherine Bonifas Civic Center, and Family Fun Park Inc. Enjoy a day of history at the restored Sand Point Lighthouse, built in 1867, one of the oldest and most historic buildings in the area. Country Hearth Inn Escanaba offers many amenities such as a picnic area, on-site BBQ grills, on-site guest laundry facility, and newsstand in lobby. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with a free cup of coffee in our lobby. Take a refreshing dip in our heated indoor pool or take advantage of our business center equipped with computer. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our free Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. Each of our guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, satellite TV, HBO, ESPN, desk with lamp, and alarm clock radio. A hairdryer, iron, and ironing board are available upon request. Country Hearth Inn Escanaba is your best choice within part of the Memphis metropolitan area, and is located directly across the Mississippi River from Memphis. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, business, or sightseeing. At Country Hearth Inn Escanaba, our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Country Hearth Inn Escanaba, Expect More. Get More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing