We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elmer's Restaurant

Elmer's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 62 Restaurants in Escanaba
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fremont, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Delicious!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was skeptical about dining at this restaurant because they were advertising liver & onions on their sign. haha. I am so glad my husband talked me into giving it a chance. I was shocked to discover they had a veggie melt sandwich. Many restaurants have very little options for vegetarians, unless you want to eat a salad or just order a plate of veggie sides. But, Elmer's offered this veggie sandwich on their menu and it was delicious. Friendly atmosphere, great waitress.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mid mich
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not a chain”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It's nice to eat at local places when traveling and a local woman recommended Elmer's to us. We were not disappointed. My hot beef sandwich was pure comfort food and my friends chicken salad had dried cranberries and was garnished with strawberries. Enjoyed the décor and the wait staff were quick and pleasant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doversmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stopped here during an out of town trip. My husband ordered breakfast and my daughter had shrimp. They both really liked it. I had the BEST country fried steak I have ever had! Service was a bit slow, but everything in the U.P. moves at a relaxed pace. Wish we would have had another chance to eat there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very clean,good service,good food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

all the above, waiters and waitresses were very good at thier jobs,all foods were fresh and well presented,I will recommend this restruant to anyone...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimley
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Soapy Coffee Cups”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I will never eat here again. The food was pretty bland and my coffee came with soap suds floating in the cup. I told the waitress and she seemed like she could "care less." I asked for another cup and it really was no better. It did not have soap suds, but it was luke warm at best. I ate my meal and left and I there are plenty of other places in town to eat so -- Good bye to Elmer's.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yooper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmer's Restaurant also viewed

Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Elmer's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing