We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've had much tastier”
Review of Dobber's Pasties

Dobber's Pasties
Ranked #19 of 64 Restaurants in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
mid mich
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I've had much tastier”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had been telling my friends they had to have a pastie while we were in Escanaba, since I have had them in Mackinaw and Ironwood and loved them. My friends said never again after these heavy, dry and tasteless pasties, served with a skimpy bit of gravy to moisten them. Very disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doversmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    12
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I loved the pasties/husband did not so I will base on my own opinion”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Seeing advertisements for pasties throughout the UP, I had to try them. I ordered the traditional beef pastie and my husband ordered the chicken pastie. Service was very quick but there was no one waiting at about 300 in the afternoon. They reminded me of a pocket pot pie with the gravy on the top. I really liked them but husband did not (he felt they were plain with not a lot of flavor). We put the gravy on both and that made it tastier. I have to figure that one pastie is probably my full day of supply of calories but .. Oh well, had to try them. I have not had them before so can't compare the actual pasties but this was a convenient location, nice atmosphere and good service. I thought it was neat how they have them frozen for the local yoopers to take with them. As a newbie in the pastie cuisine, I would recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TootleLou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You've just gotta have a Pasty when in the U.P. of Michigan”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It sits high of my list of "to do's" while visiting Escanaba. I was not disappointed. Would have liked a touch more ruttabeggas, onions, carrots & sirloin. The atmosphere was very casual but doable. More like a fast foot joint.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhaddock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pasties are the best!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dobber's makes some pretty good pasties. They are tasty and fairly large. I always look forward to having pasties when I come home on school breaks. My favorite is the pizza pasty. So delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always a great pastie!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is always a favorite spot to stop! Great flavor and piping hot! Their mini pasties were good too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ahimsa2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobber's Pasties also viewed

Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Dobber's Pasties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing