We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Family Inn

The Family Inn
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Flat rock,mi
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

They ran out of ice tea,They did not give you very much fish just alot of fries.Salad bar is good with bar cheese.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not a fan...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I've eaten here twice- both times I was disappointed. The food was overcooked and dry. My parents ate several times here as well (separately) to try the chicken dinner special. They were also very disappointed. They said it was small and hard... nearly inedible. I'm a local and always drive right on by this place... :(

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Michigan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tasty and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The food and service was very good. It was easy to read the menu and daily specials are always available. We had breakfast for less than 5 dollars. What a deal, eggs, bacon and hashbrowns with toast or pancakes. There was so much I had to get a left over container. Will definitely go back there again. Friday nights I hear they have Fish Fry if you like fish.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank scholr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique
Level Contributor
620 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Food is very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

This place isn't fancy but the food is very good. Service is good also.

Helpful?
Thank MstqMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“you will enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Every community has a good family restaurant, this is ours.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jsiv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Family Inn also viewed

Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to The Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing