We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of House of Ludington

House of Ludington
Ranked #27 of 62 Restaurants in Escanaba
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I only ate there one time, several years ago. The service was just ok.... we both ordered Filets and it is pretty hard to mess up a RARE steak but they did.... they were closer to well done. I never went back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Not a great meal.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

House of Ludington - a 149 year old hotel and restaurant. We stayed in Escanaba but our accommodations were elsewhere - however, TripAdvisor gave their restaurant good marks.

We shared onion rings as an appetizer. The breading was too thick and therefore far from crispy.

My wife had their shrimp special with came with salad and a baked potato. I chose their soup of the day instead of a salad to go with my chicken fettuccini. My experience did not lend credibility to the marks enjoyed by the restaurant. The fettuccini was uninspired - the sauce was too much, too thick and bland. And the portions were huge! The soup was very good, as was my iced tea. Oh well, they can’t all be winners.

With tax and tip: 58 bucks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joan&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently stopped by the famed House of Ludington for a late afternoon appetizer and glass of wine. Although the restaurant has a long and storied reputation it was our first chance to dine there. We sat in the pub area (as opposed to the dining room) in a cozy booth; nice atmosphere, but a bit of a musty smell. We ordered the beef quesadillas, which were very good. The wine list was adequate, and the pours were a bit on the light side. This was certainly not a complete dining experience, and while it was acceptable it was nothing to write home about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJP1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Motorcycle Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The food and service at the restaurant were very good. You can't help but want to walk around and check out this wonderful historical old inn.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mona1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Best Fish Fry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant has the best fish fry in the area. The perch is the best!
Also, upgrade to the strawberry cashew salad-it's awesome!
Other fave's are the Pasta Bruschetta and the broiled whitefish
Steaks and ribs are excellent too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fab44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Ludington also viewed

 
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to House of Ludington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing