We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Fish Fry”
Review of House of Ludington

House of Ludington
Ranked #30 of 62 Restaurants in Escanaba
Restaurant details
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Best Fish Fry”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant has the best fish fry in the area. The perch is the best!
Also, upgrade to the strawberry cashew salad-it's awesome!
Other fave's are the Pasta Bruschetta and the broiled whitefish
Steaks and ribs are excellent too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fab44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escanaba, Mich.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply Super”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The best fish fry in the area, my favorite is the broiled whitefish, my wife loves the strawberry cashew salad and says it is best she's ever tasted. Great atmosphere, very friendly. Steaks are superb. Can be in and out in less than an hour with ease if you wish. Quaint lodging in historic building. Dining by the fireplace in King George Room is nice for a romantic meal, while eating in the pub on Friday is outstanding. Unfortunately hours are limited, but it is still worth the effort.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Michigan
Level Contributor
141 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Try the BLT.”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Their BLT is the best I have ever eaten, and I really like that sandwich. Their fries are made fresh there and always good. Excellent burgers too. They are a bit skimpy on the onion rings, but they are yummy too. A nice selection of draft beers too with the full bar if one is so inclined.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gniedermaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Creek
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“worthwhile”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The food is excellent with a good selection. The service is very friendly and personal. Atmosphere is great, but very limited hours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Phenomenal meals!”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were staying over night at the House of Ludington Hotel and thought we may as well have dinner there too, and I am so glad we did! This had to be one of the best meals I have ever eaten!

The restaurant is slightly on the upper scale, but I would call it “casual fine dining”. There are two dining rooms, plus a bar area. We sat next to the fireplace up front.

The menu is HUGE! It will take some time to decide. I attached a picture of just part of the menu - these were just the entrées. There is another whole page of appetizers, salads, soup and sides. As you can see, the prices aren't too bad either!

We ordered two appetizers because we couldn’t help ourselves - The stuffed mushrooms and the deep fried pickles. Both were very good!

For dinner, I decided on the Seafood Mornay, husband had Crab Alfredo, a friend had the Bacon Wrapped Pork Filets, and his wife had the Pesto Chicken. I highly suggest all of those menu items as well as the crocked potatoes! YUM!

Unfortunately we didn’t have room for dessert, but my next trip to Escanaba will include a stop at the House of Ludington for dinner and dessert.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Reenwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Ludington also viewed

Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 
Escanaba, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to House of Ludington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing