We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Suprise”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

As we were driving thru the U.P. in MI it was getting late and the next stop looked like Escanaba. Looked at all the motel offerings in the city and decided to try Sunset Lodge. What a wonderful surprise. Yes it looks like just another old place on the strip that you really aren't sure you want to stay at. The rooms are very comfortable and extremely clean. Very reasonable rates and the owner called after we were in the room for a short period of time just to make sure everything was to our liking. You don't get that service at one of the chains! The owners could not be more accommodating. The beds were very nice and they had bigger fluffier towels than any of the places we had stayed in during the entire week! Try the motel I really think you will be surprised and very comfortable. This is the place I will stay if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejk132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    240
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
227
285
66
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at this charming motel, and LOVED it! We were looking for somewhere more "local" to stay on our trip through the UP, rather than the chains we frequently visit. The Sunset was the perfect choice! We had one of the updated rooms (Room 1),and it was wonderful - very cozy, with a beautiful new walk-in shower, comfortable beds, new floors and furnishings, and exceptionally clean and fresh. The owner, Jared, was very pleasant and helpful. I'd strongly recommend this motel, and will definitely stay here again if we're in the area!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Franken
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at the Sunset Lodge on the last day of our trip to Michigan. We had a nice conversation with the owner Jen and spent a comfortable night in our rooms. The owners are in
the process of upgrading all of their rooms which will add to their value. Their prices are very reasonable and be assured the rooms are all very clean. We would certainly stay there the next time we are in Escanaba versus staying in one of the chain motels.

Room Tip: Plan a stay at this motel as all the rooms are clean and on the floor level with an outside entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel was the perfect place to stay on our trip through the U.P. The owners were nice and accommodating, friendly and kind to our pet, and gave us everything we needed. The room was adorable and I loved the wood features! Beds were super comfortable. New clocks were a nice touch. Lots of space to walk the dog. We loved it, and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 504anniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were just passing through Escanaba and were pleasantly surprised by this motel. Simple, affordable, and clean with super friendly and helpful owners and free wi-fi! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The owners are very nice and personable. If I lived in Escanaba I would probably hang out with them. I like that town, charming in a way I identify with. When I go back to the U.P. we will stay at the Sunset Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a great little motel if you're not needing a great deal of amenities and just passing through as we were. It's right off the highway and a clean and comfortable place to crash for the night. It's great value and the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#6 of 10 in Escanaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Property: Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing