We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Iron Mountain, Michigan
1 review
“Business trip”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Clean, quiet, comfortable. Good location with easy access to hotel and hotel room. Friendly accommodations, they recommended restaurant next door ( can walk ) and it was a great choice. All in all it was a real good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a review. We appreciate your choice to stay with us and we hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    236
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
223
281
63
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, OHio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The type of motel I stayed in as a kid on family road trips in the 50's and 60's, before big corporate hotels.Friendly welcome at the end of a long day, very accommodating and great referral to local restaurants. Personal service with a genuine attitude of helpfulness. The owners made me fell like a welcomed guest, not a number.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bimshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello! We greatly appreciate your choice to stay with us, and your time spent reviewing our place! Coming from big city corporate hotels ourselves, we are grateful to have this unique opportunity to interact with our guests in a new way here in the UP of Michigan! We have so much fun getting to know our visitors, and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves as well. Will hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a fifty's style motel that the owners are converting. The owners work hard to please and are very kind. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay. We would stay there again in the future. We were there Valentines weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to serving you again as we continue to make improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bark River, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We received excellent service and value for the price. We will definitely stay there again. The owner was very friendly and welcoming. We stayed for 2 nights. The bed was very comfortable. Parking right outside the door was also a plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello! Thank you for taking your time to write in a review for us! We hope that all of our guests agree that we are a good overall value option for lodging. The items you mention are very important to us, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you are looking for a clean room and a comfortable stay. This is the place to go. The people that run the lodge do a great job of making sure you feel welcome and all your needs are met. Plus there is a great restaurant just down the road.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We are pleased that you felt comfortable here, and we always hope that our guests feel welcome, especially in unknown territory e.g., Escanaba to most! We do hope that you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I phoned the Sunset Lodge expecting the usual (read annoying) pet rules... "only accepting dogs 10 lbs and under, and a 25$ pet "fee". So with trepidation I inquired regarding their policy....low and behold....no fee, no restriction! Yahoo :-) :-)
Made the reservation, received an immediate email confirmation. Showed up on the weekend, our room was on the end and they had thoughtfully turned up the heat and turned on a lamp. Room was spacious, bathroom stocked with fluffy white towels, had a micro/fridge/coffee maker. Upon check-in was told about donuts and coffee in the morning.
After a delicious dinner at The Stonehouse, we relaxed and slipped into a restful slumber. Mattress was perfect...not too firm or soft.
Overall, it was a great stay and my furry family (2 Great Danes and 1 Maltese) and I will be back :-) :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbcrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are so glad that our no hassle pet policy met your needs- that's an easy one for us! We will work to continue providing the level of quality you received during your visit, and we will hope to see you (all) again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We first stayed at the Sunset Lodge last fall and were delighted with our excellent experience. Just a few days ago while returning from a trip to Minneapolis, we again made reservations earlier in the day at the Sunset Lodge. We where about fifteen miles from Escanaba when our SUV collided with a deer. We were not injured, but our vehicle was heavily damaged and the deer was killed. The driver of the tow truck cheerfully dropped us and our belongs off at the Lodge and then took our SUV to the collision shop. The Lodge, Jarred and Jen, were very helpful and were not concerned about when we would be able to leave as we needed to complete the arrangements for the repairs and obtain a rental car. The stress of the accident was greatly reduced by have Lodge (and the restaurant--The Family Inn--next door) as an oasis.

Having an excellent place to stay like the Sunset Lodge makes our journey from the Detroit area to Minneapolis by way of the Upper Peninsula worth a little extra time and mileage. We will be back later this month when we pick up our repaired SUV.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank truetravelcompanions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your sincere review. Our guests are so important to us and our business, and it is so rewarding to know that guests like you are intentionally choosing our motel as their place to stay among all of the options available. We are glad your trip, despite the unfortunate run-in, was enjoyable, and we will look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#6 of 10 in Escanaba
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Property: Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing