We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh what a gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh what a gem.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I found this hotel via Trip Advisor and we were very pleased. The value is here for sure, such a friendly couple and it's clean, comfortable and so convenient. I would recommend this to anyone staying the the very friendly town of Escanaba. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Book early, it fills up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CJC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    243
    46
    19
    8
See reviews for
229
291
68
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very old property in need of repair. Room clean but small. Bed good. The back rooms are like rustic cabins, but with coffee, fridge and micro. Expectations by travelers should be set at the two star level.

Room Tip: Stay in the back rooms, quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaSkeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Island, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed one night in Escanaba. I was nervous as the price was so low but all the review were good. I am happy to say we were not disappointed. The bedroom area was very clean and pretty well updated. Bathroom needed some work but was clean, and the shower worked well. Beds were comfortable, room was clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Freshly painted, newer non-stained or worn carpet, friendly proprietors and staff. Pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of this roadside motel. They also had large flatscreen TVs which surprised us as we wouldn't have expected that. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Met two motorcycling friends there last Monday. They were heading home from the east coast to New Mexico. I booked the room with three double beds. It was great and only $75 with tax included. Room was clean, beds comfortable, and hosts helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockersbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

we usually stick to big chain hotels, but after reading the tripadvisor reviews, we gave this small motel a try. the room(#19) was clean, space efficiently set up, comfortable bed/pillows, small fridge/microwave(nice extra). yes, there was road noise being so close to hwy, but no more than a big chain or one that has kids running up & down halls & we just played some music. nice restaurant next door. good experience for a GREAT price. only thing I would add is take your own hair dryer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leavingitallbehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The property was older but decently maintained on the outside. We came in late at about 8:30pm on the tail-end of a holiday weekend. We were in room #1 which had a just shampooed smell about it that was simply overpowering (later I discovered that the smell was a fully opened air freshener hidden in the room). The room we had was damp and very close to the road with lots of road noise. The beds were very old with mattresses that hurt our backs. Not what we expected at all after reading the tripadvisor reviews. This is the first property that is not acceptable to us and we believe is highly over-rated on tripadvisor. We would not stay here again. There are many choices across the street that are chain operations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank elkelk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your review! We certainly appreciate your stay with us, and we hope to use your feedback to make our guests experience more enjoyable.

We regret that we were unable to speak with you about your experience while you were here. The notes that you have pointed out regarding a specific room had not previously been brought to our attention, so we thank you for doing so through this review. With continuous work underway, we are eager to make every room as comfortable and enjoyable to travelers as possible. As we are entering our second year of ownership, we hope that our return guests notice positive change, and we do welcome visitors to tour our rooms before deciding to stay with us!

While our rating on TripAdvisor is high, we do not want travelers to mistake the rating for being the nicest and newest place in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
84 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#6 of 10 in Escanaba
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Property: Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing