We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I must have been in a different hotel than the others”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We recently stayed one night at the Sunset Lodge. We chose this hotel based on past TripAdvisor recommendations. All I can say it that I must have had the only bad room in the place. The bed was noisy and had no headboard. The bathroom door didn't close completely. Our room air conditioner was a little noisy, but it couldn't mask a much noisier air conditioner in an adjacent portion of the building.
There are many other choices of hotels in Escanaba and I would look for another if/when I return.

Room Tip: Don't accept room #12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 875 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Lodge. Rooms were clean and parking was right in front of your door. The restaurant next door was very good and fairly priced. Managers were very friendly and helpful allowing us to check in early. Would definitely stay again when in Escanaba.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KDary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I agree with all of the positive reviewers. My wife and I spend 3-4 months on the road annually and have occasion to use many a motel. Sunset is one of the cleanest we've encountered, especially taking into account how old the structure is. If all you're looking for is a comfortable (firm) bed in which to sleep, Sunset Lodge will meet your need. A small fridge and a microwave await you as well. We pad $65 for a night (including tax).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baruch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hello! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us this summer! Your words are so valuable to our business and encouraging for us as we continue to make improvements. We would love to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a clean, value priced motel, locally owned. The Proprietor is eager to please. It is not a chain. Which I like. The location is on the main drag through town. This makes it easy to find but there is traffic noise. Small fridge was very useful for me. My only complaint is that I was unable to turn off the light outside my room. It was very bright, shone in my room all night and I found it quite annoying. I would never rate it 5 stars because it is, after all, an ordinary motel.
Family Inn restaurant next door was great for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cecilia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking your time to send us a review! We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay, however, do regret that the light outside your room shone through the window. We will work to ensure that the window treatments are completely blacking out the light, as I can imagine the disturbance there! We do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great little American family owned motel. Super clean and tidy. Not a big chain but that's why we wanted to stay there. Price was right too, about $50. My only complaint is that the bed wasn't that comfortable.

Excellent restaurant right next door with awesome homemade bread.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FLYIFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I are on a road trip from Minnesota to Maine and stopped for one night here. I read the prior reviews and concur that the motel is clean and a comfortable stay. Beds were very nice, clean sheets, shower was just fine and a very pleasant couple run this motel. The room also has wifi, a micro, small frig and coffee maker. We got coffee from the office in the morning as they also make a pot there, with small boxed donuts if you want. All in all, a good stay at a very reasonable price. Altho it is on a busy highway (US 2), the noise was quite diminished in the room and since it was warm, we used the A/C which neutralized outside noise.

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 queen beds at one end of the motel. Not sure if one room is better than anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Bug-369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

With the reviews I read and the incredible rate of $50 including taxes, I booked. So glad we stayed there. It was easy to find as we drove north through Escanaba and just into Wells. The Family Inn Restaurant is right next door. (Go there if you want delicious food at very good prices.) The reception at the desk was excellent. While this is an old motel, everything that needs to be fresh and new IS fresh and new...towels, bedding, curtains, frig, microwave and probably the comfortable bed. It is clean, really clean. Wifi worked immediately. There were 70 channels, something for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escanaba
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.3 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
2.3 mi away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#7 of 10 in Escanaba
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range: $49 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing