We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I are big fans of 40s and 50s vintage motels and hotels - if they've been either kept up or renovated. The Sunset Lodge owners have done some work to bring this classic strip motel back to life, but a little more remains to be done. While we had no real complaints, the room was a little rough around the edges. On the other hand, the rate was very reasonable and the room was clean. Although the main highway passes the motel, it's probably 200 feet away, and there is a large grass median with trees between the motel parking area and the highway frontage road. We slept well and weren't bothered by noise. The window facing the street did a great job of blocking any traffic noise. The owner was very friendly and helpful. If we ever visit Escanaba again, we will likely stay at the Sunset Lodge.

Room Tip: There are two or three rooms that are behind the main motel. We did not investigate, but these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetOutofDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi there! Thank you so much for supporting our motel! We are excited to continue making improvements and are pleased that you had a restful nights sleep. We value your words and do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    236
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
223
281
63
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

A nice clean old-fashioned motor lodge, where you park right in front of your room's door. Very clean room, but very small bathroom (other rooms are different, I think). We had a fridge and microwave (these vary as to room also--be sure to ask). And absolutely friendly owners.

One complaint--the neighbors sat outside and talked until 1:00 am. I should have called the management.

Good price: around $50

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captcalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for staying at the Sunset Lodge! Our rooms do come in different shapes and sizes and we are certainly willing to accommodate special requests as best we can! There is a small refrigerator and microwave in every room. We are sorry that we did not notice and attend to the extra noise, as I am sure that hindered your sleep quality. We will try to be more diligent with keeping an eye on the front porch as we are closing up at night! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is nicely located,easy to get in and out of and very clean. It's just a simple, drive to the door motel, but it is super clean with a fridge and microwave and flat screen television. The bathroom is very small, but functional. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JennN884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay at our motel! We are glad to know that you will be returning. We do not yet have flat screen televisions in all of our rooms, but you may request one upon reservation and we will do our best to accommodate until we have them throughout!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a great place to stay and I would definitely come back the next time I am in the Upper Michigan area. The room was clean and a very comfortable place to come back to at the end of the day. I would recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! We love to hear that our guests are comfortable here, as that is really the ultimate compliment for a basic economy motel like ours. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you visit Escanaba again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I loved our room at Sunset Lodge. The bed was comfortable. The sheets fit and the pillows were comfortable. If you don't want to pay the inflated prices of the "designer" motels, Sunset is the ticket to satisfaction. If you want a full excellent breakfast go next door and order an omelette!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim_K_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and found the motel to be run by a very nice accommodating young couple who own and manage, but they are experienced and competent. Room was very clean, and the linens and towels were very recently purchased. Great bargain, will stop

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed in the rear building of the Sunset Lodge for one night while in town on business. While small, the room was clean and comfortable. The wifi connection was better than some $150/night hotels I've stayed in - perhaps a bit slow for Netflix, but perfect for checking e-mail and catching up on the news. Window A/C unit and TV both worked just fine. Didn't use the in-room microwave, fridge, or coffee maker, but everything was stocked and appeared to be in good condition.

What really stood out is how genuinely friendly the owners are. They really want their guests to have a great time and enjoy the best of Escanaba and the UP. Coffee and donuts in the lobby are a great grab + go for heading back home or onto further travels. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better place for the price, and I'd recommend this local business over higher-priced chains anyway because you can't beat the friendliness!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are smaller, but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of our Motel! We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that your needs were met! We love interacting with guests so it is certainly a bonus that they also enjoy the interaction with us! We truly appreciate the local business support and hope that you are able to make your way back to Escanaba again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#6 of 10 in Escanaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Property: Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing