We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic miotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is nicely located,easy to get in and out of and very clean. It's just a simple, drive to the door motel, but it is super clean with a fridge and microwave and flat screen television. The bathroom is very small, but functional. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JennN884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay at our motel! We are glad to know that you will be returning. We do not yet have flat screen televisions in all of our rooms, but you may request one upon reservation and we will do our best to accommodate until we have them throughout!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 867 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a great place to stay and I would definitely come back the next time I am in the Upper Michigan area. The room was clean and a very comfortable place to come back to at the end of the day. I would recommend it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! We love to hear that our guests are comfortable here, as that is really the ultimate compliment for a basic economy motel like ours. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you visit Escanaba again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I loved our room at Sunset Lodge. The bed was comfortable. The sheets fit and the pillows were comfortable. If you don't want to pay the inflated prices of the "designer" motels, Sunset is the ticket to satisfaction. If you want a full excellent breakfast go next door and order an omelette!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim_K_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and found the motel to be run by a very nice accommodating young couple who own and manage, but they are experienced and competent. Room was very clean, and the linens and towels were very recently purchased. Great bargain, will stop

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed in the rear building of the Sunset Lodge for one night while in town on business. While small, the room was clean and comfortable. The wifi connection was better than some $150/night hotels I've stayed in - perhaps a bit slow for Netflix, but perfect for checking e-mail and catching up on the news. Window A/C unit and TV both worked just fine. Didn't use the in-room microwave, fridge, or coffee maker, but everything was stocked and appeared to be in good condition.

What really stood out is how genuinely friendly the owners are. They really want their guests to have a great time and enjoy the best of Escanaba and the UP. Coffee and donuts in the lobby are a great grab + go for heading back home or onto further travels. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better place for the price, and I'd recommend this local business over higher-priced chains anyway because you can't beat the friendliness!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are smaller, but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review of our Motel! We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that your needs were met! We love interacting with guests so it is certainly a bonus that they also enjoy the interaction with us! We truly appreciate the local business support and hope that you are able to make your way back to Escanaba again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stay at the Sunset because you can pull your bike/car right up front to the room. You can depend that they will be clean and well maintained. Chairs and table out front to enjoy a sit. Pillows, mattress, linens are all better than what if found at similarly priced places around "rural" America. I could do without the morning donuts. There is a mom/pop restaurant right next door to the hotel. Never eat there though.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HDFLHPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The rooms were modern and clean. The owners are young and very friendly and considerate. You can't beat the price.It's perfect if you're just looking for a place to crash, and not all the overpriced frills. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrsFancyPantsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escanaba
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
2.3 mi away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#6 of 10 in Escanaba
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range: $51 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing