We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable, and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Clean, affordable, and friendly.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed in the rear building of the Sunset Lodge for one night while in town on business. While small, the room was clean and comfortable. The wifi connection was better than some $150/night hotels I've stayed in - perhaps a bit slow for Netflix, but perfect for checking e-mail and catching up on the news. Window A/C unit and TV both worked just fine. Didn't use the in-room microwave, fridge, or coffee maker, but everything was stocked and appeared to be in good condition.

What really stood out is how genuinely friendly the owners are. They really want their guests to have a great time and enjoy the best of Escanaba and the UP. Coffee and donuts in the lobby are a great grab + go for heading back home or onto further travels. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better place for the price, and I'd recommend this local business over higher-priced chains anyway because you can't beat the friendliness!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are smaller, but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of our Motel! We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that your needs were met! We love interacting with guests so it is certainly a bonus that they also enjoy the interaction with us! We truly appreciate the local business support and hope that you are able to make your way back to Escanaba again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    254
    50
    21
    8
See reviews for
247
308
71
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
671 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stay at the Sunset because you can pull your bike/car right up front to the room. You can depend that they will be clean and well maintained. Chairs and table out front to enjoy a sit. Pillows, mattress, linens are all better than what if found at similarly priced places around "rural" America. I could do without the morning donuts. There is a mom/pop restaurant right next door to the hotel. Never eat there though.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HDFLHPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The rooms were modern and clean. The owners are young and very friendly and considerate. You can't beat the price.It's perfect if you're just looking for a place to crash, and not all the overpriced frills. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrsFancyPantsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Traveling by motorcycle on the Lake Michigan Circle Tour we needed a stopover before going on. Sunset Lodge fit the bill. It was economical and very clean. We loved the plush pillows and the fluffy white towels. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Town is just a short drive away and a family restaurant is just next door.















It is located near restaurants and the center of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here on my way to my cabin in northern Ontario. Great for a quick rest. One must keep in mind that this is a one story motel when reading my review. I normally stay at full service properties.

Room very clean and with nice linens. For a motel I was shocked at the level of cleanliness. I would have never stayed here if it weren't for the prior reviews and photos so thank you Trip Advisor and it's members. Again, I'm more of a full service hotel or B&B type of guy.

We arrived late and I called ahead to the owner to give him a heads up. He had no problem accommodating my late arrival but to save him having me check in late we decided to just leave the room open and bill on the desk. Great customer service!

My only complaint would be the road noise. There is a back building which I believe has three units in it and I would think it would be quieter than the 21 front rooms. I am a very light sleeper. With white noise from the in window air conditioning unit and my lack of sleep I was able to fall asleep.

Nice dinner directly next door that you can walk to for breakfast. Owner does have complimentary coffee and donuts in the office.

Over all if you are looking for a very inexpensive place to stay that is clean and convenient with a owner who really cares about his property and guests then I would highly recommend Sunset Lodge.

Room Tip: Back building may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Flyboy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Mi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife an I recently stayed a couple of non consecutive nights during a week July/August. The owners are very helpful and nice. The Motel is an older one. For the price it is adequate. The first room we were given was actually in an out building behind the main motel. The room was small and barely adequate. It had a double bed and a twin bed. The beds were smaller than you would normally expect. The bathroom was very small. I had small shower and a very small nook for the toilet. People of 'american' build would be very claustrophobic. On our return trip I had mentioned the small room that I was given and they gave me a larger room including a larger bathroom,shower, and toilet space (handicap?). It worked out much better. The AC outlets are minimal, and not intuitively space. If you need power for a computer or medical device (CPAP etc.) be sure to bring an extension cord.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

First off - remember what you are paying for the room and secondly consider what you want from a motel to begin with. If you are on the road, and want a good night's sleep without all of the amenities of the big box hotels - then this will surprise you with its ability to please. Clean, cozy, and pretty quiet considering it is right on US 2. The owners are gracious, friendly, and very welcoming. Coffee in the morning? You Bet! Those chain hotels need to pay attention to these little retro-motels. What they lack in features they make up in service and cleanliness. This one in particular has taken the time to update, clean and make you feel welcome upon your arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escanaba
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#7 of 10 in Escanaba
355 reviews
2.3 mi away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Property: Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing