We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Monticello
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Reserved 3 rooms for one night based on trip advisor reviews. When we pulled up 2 people in the party were against staying. However, after signing in and meeting the owner and his daughter and seeing the rooms, everyone was pleased. Clean rooms, hospitable staff, Nostalgic motel managed by a nice young couple.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 6CPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    254
    50
    21
    8
See reviews for
247
308
71
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The title really says most of it. The Sunset Lodge is a motel located on the main strip across the street from Tractor and Supply about 3/4 of a mile from downtown Escanaba. It was incredibly affordable at about $60 including tax. But it should be affordable; it's as basic as it gets with small rooms and no frills. The beds were firm and comfortable and the linens were definitely new which was nice. We had two queen beds which the Sunset Lodge has a limited number of and the room was outfitted with a microwave and small fridge. The bathroom had a new tile floor and fresh paint AND IT WAS SPARKLING CLEAN AS WAS THE ENTIRE ROOM! We needed a basic place to lay our heads after a 500 mile drive for about 6 hours. We travel with our dog and as such we needed a pet-friendly establishment - which the incredibly nice owners Jen and Jarrod, were very accommodating toward. Our room happened to be located 2 rooms down from another dog owner, who happened to be enjoying the sunset on the front porch with said dog at the time we checked-in. I expressed concern about this to Jen who without having to be asked made sure she was present and in congtrol of the situation with the other guest to ensure things went smoothly. Things did and we greatly appreciated the genture. Jen also checked on us shortly after we settled in and provided great suggestions for restaurants and other info. As a no frills lay your head in a very clean, very basic place for a few hours, the Sunset Lodge is perfect. Plus, the young owners, new to the business, are so nice and you can tell they really care about the property and guest satisfaction.

Room Tip: Email Jarrod and Jen ahead and tell them what you need - or call. That's what I did and they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheckster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We only stayed at Sunset Motel for one night recently. Our room was immaculate. Our bed was comfortable. It was surprisingly quiet being so close to the highway. Best of all our family with a pet was able to stay in a room there too. Staff was very personable and polite. We would definitely stay there again the next time we are in Escanaba. Owner made good recommendations for restaurants and was knowledgeable of the area. We did eat next door for dinner and breakfast and food and service was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here one night based on tripadvisor reviews. We were not sorry. This was a great little place and the owners were very pleasant and accommodating. Our room looked like it was still being renovated but on the plus side it was very clean and had everything we needed. The location is on a busy road but with the ac running we heard little noise. We told the owners about a few items in the room that needed fixing the next morning and they thanked us for letting them know. For a summer stay in expensive Escanaba, this was a welcome place for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaska0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Comfortable. Very nice new owners. Good room prices. Free WI-FI. Free coffee and donuts available in the morning. Very nice view of sunset. Though it is located on a busy highway, it was reasonably quiet in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RoyWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your informative and kind review! We are so glad that you felt comfortable here and appreciate your choosing us over the many other choices in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Lodge while passing through Escanaba. The owners are extremely accommodating and super friendly! The Sunset Lodge provided us with a clean room for us, our daughter and our dogs. We stayed there again on our way back home and will definitely stay each and every time we pass through. Thank you for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay over at our motel! Escanaba is a great "pass through" place to stop, and good for a longer visit as well if you ever have extra time to tour our beautiful historical downtown! We are glad that all parties were pleased and even more so to hear that you will be back again. Your review is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Decided on the Sunset Lodge for our stay in the U.P. after reading the great reviews on the website. Our stay was for four nights. Everyone one there was extremely nice and always asking if everything was good. Which it was. Room was very clean and had a microwave and refrigerator. Nice bonus. Great restaurant next door. Would recommend to stay there and if ever in the area would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JarredandJenD, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hello! Thank you for contributing to our online reviews! We are so thankful to have guests willing to write about their experiences. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will hope to have you in Escanaba again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escanaba
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#7 of 10 in Escanaba
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Property: Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing