We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Room was clean and exactly as advertised, staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was very convenient and closely located to many restaurants. I wold recommended using Google maps to locate this location as my GPS would not show the correct location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yellowdoggunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred D, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your time reviewing our place! We are glad that you saw our reviews and gave us the opportunity. We also recommend Google maps for directions. Others may display us in Wells, MI (township) as opposed to Escanaba, MI (city).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 879 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Found this Jewell by checking TA. Looks like in-line motel on Old Highway 66. A mom and pop type and it is. Reservation handled promptly, were met at office door by owner. Price is right! He made call to restaurant for us. The room, while spartan was clean and complete with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Flat screen TV with lots of channels. A true gem!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ozarkdaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred D, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hello! Thank you so much for considering our motel for your stay. We love being a "mom & pop" place, and while we are pleased that we exceeded your curbside expectations, we would love and we hope to clean up our look from the outside as well! We hope that you visit Escanaba again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

After a 7 hour drive, we rolled in at 9pm. Escanaba is a tough place to get anything to eat after 9pm during the week as all the restaurants pretty much close up. We've stayed here a couple times before and it was clear that there must be new ownership. The young gentleman who was running the place called The Stone House (restaurant) and asked them to seat us as we had just arrived in town and they did. We probably wouldn't have gotten anything for dinner aside from fast food otherwise. FYI - The Stone House was amazing. Fairly pricey, especially for Escanaba, but well worth it. Also, the rooms are always clean and include a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. All the appliances were brand new. Thanks for a great stopover in the middle of a 12-hour drive! Also, the cafe next door is excellent for breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred D, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you stopped through Escanaba! We do love our local restaurants as well! So glad that we were able to help and that you enjoyed your quick visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I don't have much to add beyond what every other high rating says, other than a couple points.

The room I was in was obviously remodeled, and from what I understand most or all the rooms have been. But what surprised me is that it was remodeled the way you would do it at your own home. Crown molding in the bathroom? Stay at other Escanaba/Gladstone hotels and you'll usually see a drop ceiling with discolored tiles. It just looks like the owners care about the place, and that makes it feel a lot more "homey" to me.

And that brings me to my second point. Like probably everyone else, I spoke with the owners for a bit. They moved there because they wanted to, and they bought a hotel because it was a dream for them. It shows in their attitude toward their guests and toward the care they put into the hotel... And those qualities make for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrerobitaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred D, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are certainly committed to reinvesting as much as possible into making the Sunset Lodge the very best it can be. While we still have plenty of plans to continue refreshing, we are so pleased that you have enjoyed what we have done so far! It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Not much from the outside but inside clean and remodeled. Stayed here bc I followed the other TA reviews. Great value. Owners are young adorable family. Love fridge and microwave in every room. Our room even had a new flat screen TV.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Itsypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred D, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

We truly appreciate your review, and we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We followed Tripadvisor to select this lodge. The owners are a pleasant young couple that are anxious to please you and make your stay most welcome. They even offered to call various restaurants to make reservations for us. You feel good knowing you are supporting independent local business people rather than some national chain. The room was very clean and had a micro and fridge.
The room rate was very reasonable for this area. Restaurants and shopping is conveniently close by. We plan to stay there again next time in Escanaba.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C7VetteCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred D, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are excited that you found us online and that you chose us over the many other options in town. And yes, we are certainly eager to help all of our guests in any way as you are traveling to and through Escanaba! We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

2 of us stayed for 2 nights while hunting in the local area. This is one of the few perfect places for people who are in the area for outdoor activities such as hunting, fishing, hiking, biking, canoing etc. We just needed a good comfortable place to sleep and regroup as we were spending most of our time in the woods. The room was neat, comfortable and well taken care of. We didn't need or want to pay for the pool or game room that a chain motel would offer. We also felt that being able to park right outside the room was a real plus for being able to keep on eye on your gear and easy access for anything you might have left in the truck but want inside. Much better than 2 or 3 flights of stairs. Owners are great young couple who are true entrepeuners. This was the 2nd time I had stayed there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark201342601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred D, Owner at Sunset Lodge Escanaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Hello, fellow outdoors enthusiast! We are glad to know we have been meeting your needs without all the frills. That allows us to focus on keeping our rooms fresh and our rates affordable, and providing a pleasant overall experience for every guest. Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escanaba
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.3 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
2.3 mi away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#7 of 10 in Escanaba
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range: $51 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing