We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, excellent value!!”
Review of Lincoln Host

Lincoln Host
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lincoln Host
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised at the value. Very clean, comfortable beds and great price. Plenty of space in the room. No complaints. It was a welcome resting place after a long drive. Will stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, General Manager at Lincoln Host, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review, we are so glad you stayed with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I just returned home from Escanaba after staying at the Lincoln Host. I have stayed there for almost every visit to Escanaba since the hotel was built. I was very suprised to see they no longer have small refrigerators in the rooms. I really like to stay where they have one in the room. Many times there are left overs after eating , it was nice to use the microwave in the lobby to reheat the food for later. I always bring soda and other items that need refrigeration along on trips, I always check if the rooms have refrigerators before I make my reservations. Next trip up I won't be staying at the Lincoln Host, we didn't make it up there last year but we were there the year before so I don't know when they decided to pull the refridgerators out of the rooms. I will miss this hotel but there are other nice ones to stay in when visiting Escanaba.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, General Manager at Lincoln Host, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

So sorry you were disappointed. Not all our rooms have refrigerators in the rooms. Next time you call please request a room with a refrigerator. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel was clean and has room rates that are affordable. We decided to take a spur of the moment trip to get away for the day and ended up in Escanba. We didn't make reservations and had no idea where to stay. We called the Lincoln Host to see if they had rooms available for the night and the owner held a room for us until we got there. How nice! The staff there were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and quiet. Like others, we did not hear any excessive noise from the highway. We had a room in front of the hotel and the window half open. The hotel has a tanning salon, free WiFi, and a simple complementary breakfast. No pool or fitness center, but that was ok with us. Plus this is privately owned and not a big chain hotel which is why you get the great value. Yes, the hand soap is small and they have a soap dispenser in the shower, but that also was ok with us. We usually bring our own anyways, beacsue like all hotel soap, they are not that great. The hotel also has a casino package (if you ask for it) and they will call the shuttle bus to take you back and forth from the casino. Very nice place to stay and we would definatley stay here again. Thanks again to the owner for accommodating us!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieB093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, General Manager at Lincoln Host, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your business. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

As you enter Escanaba on from the North on US 2 you will pass several chain hotels. Keep driving. The little hotel called the Lincoln Host will impress you with its clean and simple approach to lodging. I recently stayed there because of TripAdvisor ratings and I am so glad I did. This place was quiet, comfortable, unpretentious, and alarmingly clean. The night staff was profoundly pleasant as they accommodated my late (very) arrival. If you stop (and I encourage it) prepare for microscopic bars of soap and a liquid soap dispenser in shower for your all-purpose washing. Also breakfast is some donuts, coffee and an orange-flavored drink product that is labeled "orange juice". Irons are available upon request, not in the rooms. Don't look for a pool or other amenities, this place is about a pleasant and clean overnight stay. In typical UP style they provide this specific function without distractions... except for the tanning beds. Not sure why they are there but I'll bet they are clean! Seriously, if you want quality and value, stay here. Nice family run business. And with the money you save, go down the street to Elmer's Restaurant for a real breakfast. Like the Lincoln Host, they do it right without a fuss.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Triptickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, General Manager at Lincoln Host, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Thank you for the nice review, we are glad you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff/owner was super friendly and made great dinner suggestions. The rooms are pretty standard, but why would you pay almost twice as much at a chain hotel?

The location is just off Hwy 2 and there is no view of the water but most of the other hotels available do not have a view either. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spicy-octopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was shocked by how low our rate was. My 5 stars is based not on the amenities, of which there are few, but on the rate and the cleanliness.

For in-room amenities you get small bars of soap and a liquid soap dispenser in the shower and a coffee maker. You also get WiFi and for breakfast it's simply coffee, OJ and donuts.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and had no smell to it. If you want a clean, comfortable place to sleep, this is it. If you want a pool, fitness center, and a full spread for breakfast, look elsewhere. Some have mentioned the road noise, but we did not notice any. We also had no problem with the WiFi.

I wish motels like this were easier to find.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 7lenny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Have stayed here many times since they first opened. Never had a bad experience, always found the rooms clean and well-maintained. It's showing it's age somewhat, but is still far from being run-down.

Don't expect 5-star amenities, though. This is a budget motel, priced significantly lower than other properties in town. But it's clean, fairly new, and has everything you need for a good night's rest. It's located on one of the main drags, so traffic noise may bother some - but that's not an issue for me. There are several places nearby to eat and shop - it's a convenient stopover for the traveller passing through.

Only complaint is their free WiFi service - the rooms closest to the ends receive a very weak signal. Been that way since the beginning. Considering the low cost of upgrading their access points, I think this should have been done a long time ago. However, it's not a deal-breaker. I just ask for a room closest to the middle of the building, where the WiFi signal is strongest.

Overall, a great value. If you're looking for decent basic lodging at the best price around, this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escanaba
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
1.5 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.8 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
874 reviews
3.8 mi away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Host

Address: 620 N Lincoln Rd, Escanaba, MI 49829-1427
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range: $58 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lincoln Host 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Hotel Value" Located At 620 North Lincoln Road Along The US-2/41 And M-35 Corridor. We Offer 32 Spacious And Comfortable Non-Smoking Rooms; Single And Double Rooms With Queen Beds, King Suites And An Apartment. Continental Breakfast, Free WI-FI, Remote TVs Some With DVDs, 24 Hour Tanning, Individual Room Heat And Air Conditioning Controls, Complimentary Island Resort Casino Packages With Shuttle Service. Our Front Desk Staff Is Here To Serve You 24 Hours A Day. We Are Located 3 Blocks From The Upper Peninsula State Fairgrounds and 2 1/2 Miles From Beautiful Ludington Park. Eating Establishments Located Within A 1/2 Block Include Hardees, Culvers, Sub-Way, Arbys & Drifters Family Restaurant. Cleanliness And Friendly Service Is Our Motto. Sorry No Pets; Service Dogs Welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lincoln Host reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing