We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping Bear Get Away Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Empire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Empire B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My wife and I had just a very relaxed, fun weekend while staying at the B&B. Susan and Capt Van were great hosts! We shared some good stories, laughs and excellent prepared food!! A must visit for anyone visiting the area. We look forward to visitng during the Summer or early Fall.
Justin and Jessica

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was our first time staying in a bed & breakfast and it did not disappoint. The breakfast was delicious (though we were hoping for some of that french toast!) and the room was quite comfy. I would have loved to see access to cable in the room (it is football season after all) but the dvd selection was an excellent alternative. Overall, the innkeepers were friendly and we would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Forthebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great service, amazing breakfast, but watch your head :)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingShibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our stay was absolutely fabulous. Every morning we were given the choice of breakfast at 8:30 or 9:15 which was great for planning early trips! Not to mention their usage of fresh local produce! The couple who runs this little B&B are genuine and enthusiastic about their little slice of heaven. We were able to fully see and travel the Sleeping Bear Dunes with great ease due to proximity of the location of our accommodations. By being out in the country - you can have peace and tranquility. It was nice to be away from the distractions. Most importantly - we LOVED the hammock.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karliovach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed for two nights in the Sleeping Bear Room at the Sleeping Bear B&B and loved it. The place was so peaceful and so charming and Susan and Van were very hospitable hosts. The breakfasts were excellent and the room clean and comfortable. In particular, we appreciated being close enough to all of the places we wanted to go around Sleeping Bear Dunes and Leelenau peninsula without being in the midst of the traffic and noise in the towns. So quiet and peaceful!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed just one night, but wished for more (business meeting called us to Petoskey). Laid back atmosphere. The kitchen definitely sums up this very eclectic couple that run the place: organized chaos. Van's artwork is strewn on every open spot and Susan's garden and cooking supplies fill all the other niches. The charm of this old farmhouse is in the squeaky floorboards (yet, very quiet in rooms), dormers, and the smell of home cooked breakfast. We had the Sleeping Bear French toast with orange-rum syrup...YUM! Watched birds of all kinds flit and sit a while at the feeders just ouside the huge dining room window. At night, with baby monitor in hand (we travelled with a 2.5 year old) we headed out to enjoy a bottle of wine in the garden (lots of little sitting areas and charming lights strung make for an irresistible outing). We slept in the "Gilbert room", no picture on their website, but it had plenty of room (queen bed, a twin daybed, dresser, small dormer window with ac unit (ran quietly and kept room very comfie). Don't miss catching a bite to eat in Cedar (Cedar Rustic Inn? Can't remember the name of the restaurant, Susan will know. Awesome steak and perch!), heading in to Sleeping Bear Dunes Natiional Seashore, play park in Empire right on beach for kids, or heading north to Glen Arbor for some more great food and shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleAppleRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Susan and Van are very engaging hosts. They are well educated and very informed about the area, willingly share their knowledge and make a mighty fine breakfast too. The Sleeping Bear room is very comfortable and quiet, eclectically appointed with antique wooden shovels. They have many wonderful books detailing the history of the area as well as interesting diversions.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yeti01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empire
19.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
82 reviews
17.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,412 reviews
6.0 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#2 of 3 in Empire
282 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11977 S Gilbert Rd, Empire, MI 49630-9599
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Empire
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Empire
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sleeping Bear Hotel Empire
Sleeping Bear b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing