We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop for a treat, and you can take it home too.”

Grocer's Daughter Chocolate
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Empire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: We are a small family-owned craft chocolate business that focuses on sourcing as many local ingredients as possible. Our chocolate is fairly traded from Ecuador and Venezuela and of the highest quality. We LOVE great chocolate and we look forward to sharing it with you. Because we are committed to sourcing the best ingredient - local dairy, honey, fruits, spirits, etc - and chocolate, our prices are higher than what you'll find at a typical chocolate shop.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small family-owned craft chocolate business that focuses on sourcing as many local ingredients as possible. Our chocolate is fairly traded from Ecuador and Venezuela and of the highest quality. We LOVE great chocolate and we look forward to sharing it with you. Because we are committed to sourcing the best ingredient - local dairy, honey, fruits, spirits, etc - and chocolate, our prices are higher than what you'll find at a typical chocolate shop.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice stop for a treat, and you can take it home too.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I love the dark chocolate of course. I did not really like the chocolate with the salt ... tasted too much like hersheys..
stick with the dark chocolate and dried cherries.. oh yum

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stop for chocolate!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a whim, and were not disappointed. The dark chocolate with chai was amazing as was the dark chocolate with sea salt. Service was friendly and knowledgeable. Pull over, eat chocolate!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ReineoftheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,293 reviews
708 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Completely random but oh so good”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This roadside chocolatier was a fantastic find. Everything we bought is tremendous tasting. They even had some milk chocolate shaped like sleeping bears that our kids enjoyed. Very high grade chocolate creations and fair prices for the high quality you are getting. This is the original location up north but they are also opening a new outlet in Grand Rapids. Although Tripadvisor classifies this as a restaurant, they just sell chocolate, no other meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewwod,Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun gourmet chocolate shop”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff was very helpful and knowledgable about the products. On of the women even recommended a fun restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodjobblessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good but pricey.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a great place to buy some gourmet chocolate. They are very serious about their chocolate, but you pay for it. Remember you are supporting local business, and then eat the chocolate. All your worries of the cost will melt away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beaux1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grocer's Daughter Chocolate also viewed

Empire, Leelanau County
Empire, Leelanau County
 
Empire, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Empire, Leelanau County
 

Been to Grocer's Daughter Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing