We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for families and couples!”
Review of Maple Lane Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Empire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maple Lane Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Empire
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
“great place for families and couples!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. My husband and I took advantage of the complimentary kayaks and also came out for the bonfire one evening. It was fun to meet other people and share our travel plans with them. The complimentary continental breakfast is also a great perk! I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEast2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    51
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
87
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night when we came from the Sleeping Bear Marathon. They gave us free late check-out by several hours, when no one else in the area would. They seemed to have lots of amenities available (kayaks, horseshoes, fire pit, private beach), but we didn't have time to check any of them out.

The room was very spacious for two people and included a day bed and small dining table. The only complaint was that the shower was extremely cramped and had low water pressure. However, the bed and pillows were very comfortable.

The room did seem a little pricey (it was still peak-season pricing because of the fall colors). But it was only a little bit higher than other accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kieferr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in here mid-September and will be definitely be back. The place is so clean, quaint and accommodating. Unlike other resorts that would perhaps charge you extra for bikes or kayaks, this place did not. All complimentary. Close to Sleeping Bear Dunes. Next year we'll be back and stay a full week! What a gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pikolo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over labor day weekend. It was our first time here and it will not be our last. The staff, who i met most of but don't remember their names, are really really friendly and help you feel comfortable. There is a pretty basic breakfast in the morning mostly cereals and bagels, it would be nice if they had a little fruit, at least a banana and/or orange. They keep just about anything you would want around, they have a few kayaks, bikes, horseshoes, volleyball, and a bonfire every night, and all of it is free to use and you don't have to check it out, just first come first serve. My wife and I really didn't spend much time at the hotel, we spent most of our times out on the dunes or in the near by river and lakes. Also, i felt like our room had a very B&B feel as did the whole place, but with a little more privacy than your typical B&B. Anyway, I would recommend this to anyone, families, couples. We are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were on family vacation from northwest Wisconsin and this was the first half of our trip (2nd half was Mackinac Island). We really enjoyed our hosts, our morning breakfast of pastries, juice and excellent coffee in the gathering room. They host an evening campfire and you can even purchase a smores kit. We really enjoyed the kayaks and rowboat. The water is clear, sandy and even our small 4 year old could walk 100 yard without the water up to his neck. We stayed in the carriage house and it worked well for the kids in the bunks, hubby and I in the double bed and my mom on the daybed in the living room. It is super close to all dining and most importantly the sand dune area(you can see it from the beach area). Make sure you take a trip up to Pyramid Point as well. We also enjoyed the park and swimming in Lake Michigan and South Bar. Our kids are 4, 6, 8 and everyone had a great time.

Room Tip: First floor of carriage house sleeps family of 6...great value. Small kitchen allowed us to cook a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Maple Lane for the third time and have decided that it is our "go to" place now. The resort is clean, comfortable, quiet, and best of all... affordable. The Sleeping Bear location is perfect. The staff is courteous and helpful. The row boats, kayaks, and canoe are just a few of the amenities that we enjoy. We look forward to another stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at Maple Lanes about 26 years ago, but we won't wait that long again to go back! The room was nice, and our host was great. The kayaks & canoe were great ways to start each morning of our stay. With the Sleeping Bear Dunes almost in the back yard, all the fantastic restaurant in Empire, Glen Arbor, and Leeland, and a car show on Thursday evening, why go anywhere else. And least I forget, roasting marshmallows around the campfire ever night was a great way to end the days adventures.
Who needs a swimming pool or a 'fitness' center with the beach on Little Glen, and all the wonderful hiking trails in the Dunes!

Room Tip: Might be hard to choose a bad room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 219Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empire
17.2 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leland
74 reviews
20.8 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
22.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
145 reviews
22.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.8 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lane Resort

Property: Maple Lane Resort
Address: 8720 S Dorsey Rd, Empire, MI 49630-9715
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Empire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Empire
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Maple Lane Resort, time stands still...Nestled in the splendor of wildlife and towering maple trees, Maple Lane Resort is a place of comfort and gracious hospitality. With our spectacular setting just off the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, along with the area's most vibrant landscape and year-round activities. We continue to be the destination of choice for travelers from all over the world. Come celebrate whatever your heart desires under a canopy of maple trees. Make an event out of any occasion here at MLR! We specialize in weddings &receptions, family reunions, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations, retreats, anniversary celebrations and many more! For wedding celebrations, we can make your long anticipated day more special here at Maple Lane Resort. Your reception will be set in a historic yet elegant early 1900s setting providing you with breath-taking scenery for pictures. We have worked with many caterers and other vendors throughout the local vicinity as well as statewide. They prepare their food freshly with care, style and attention to detail all while doing their best to use local foods. Amenities* 25 units including kitchenettes, standard motel rooms, king suites, guest suites & guest rooms. Most rooms accommodate 2 to 6 people.* Air-conditioning in all rooms* Free Seasonal Continental Breakfast* BRAND NEW Sealy Mattresses & 26' Flat Screens in all rooms* Free wifi in rooms and across the site. Private Beach on Little Glen Lake with a dock and moorings* Free use of Bikes, SUP, Canoes, and Kayaks* Volleyball Court & Horseshoe Pits* Bonfire Pit (wood is provided)* Grills & Picnic Tables* Recreation/Gathering Room with Kitchen. We also now have large banquet room available in the new pole barn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Lane Hotel Empire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing