We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living Dunes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pyramid Point Trail

Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Empire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Loop trail rated moderate in skill level takes hikers through three different environments : meadow, beach-maple forest and high bluffs overlooking Lake Michigan.
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Living Dunes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

An enormous quantity of Pyramid Point dropped into the lake suddenly about 20 years ago, I believe. So, when the kids are charging up the final 100' try to slow them down as it drops right off! A nice hike up, we usually picnic to the side of the parking lot in the tall grass and then hike up. It's steep in places, I'm over weight, but can still enjoy it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LJo-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is the hike we choose with our first time guests. It's not too strenuous and offers a beautiful view as its reward.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank leelanaugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short but elevated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is an easy walk, not far but has some elevation to it. The walk up is made easier with horizontal boards set in the sand along the trail to walk on. the trail ends overlooking the water.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dber50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Boring hike but ends with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lots better hikes in Sleeping Bear - and many have a good view - if you're here for awhile and you want to say you did all the trails by all means go for it but if you just have a short while I'd do a different one.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bookgirl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Uphill Worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

It is an uphill climb so be prepared but do not let it scare you away! It is thee most beautiful payoff at the end. Views of the bays and islands. Bring your camera and allow time to savor the views.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pyramid Point Trail also viewed

 

Been to Pyramid Point Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing