We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach”
Review of Old Indian Trail

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Indian Trail
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We were up late the night before and wanted a relatively easy hike before we drove home.

The sand dunes were a challenge (walking through sand usually is,) but a beautiful view at the top. Wish we had brought suits. The beach is nearly private.

Lots of Mosquitos & I forgot the bug spray.

We can check one trail off the Sleeping Bear Dunes list. But might go back for the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Thekidsaregrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice secluded beach at the end - nice hike!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nice easy hike through woods to the sand. The sand is challenging to walk thru and there are a few small hills in the sand but, this larger girl did it and the nice secluded beach for miles and miles at the end is worth the hike! Husband and I recommend this!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Prd2BDinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but short”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a nice trail, but it is very short. The nice thing is that it is a loop and you don't have to walk the same way back as you came. Not very challenging, but like I said, very beautiful. I heard that it can be very full of mosquitoes, but didn't experience that myself.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beaux1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keansburg, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was my "go to" hike..when things got too stressful or I needed to get away this was the one path I would hike out on. It was easy to hike & i always enjoyed the views. Easily accessible & doable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rangerlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Mostly wooded forrest trail with big dunes at the end”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Good way to get some exercise, take a walk in the woods and enjoy nature but most of the trail does not have any scenic views. Be sure to take some water and snacks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Indian Trail also viewed

 
Empire, Leelanau County
 

Been to Old Indian Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing