We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Views”

Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Empire
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Incredible Views”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We opted to walk some of the trails while at the Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive to stretch our legs but sadly the trails lack proper signs, map or directions at junctions. I think we were actually half way along one trail to the Glen Lake overlook before we even saw a map which is a shame because at times it was actually a guess which direction to take. The views themselves are certainly worth the walk (or drive) and are really breathtaking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jray2436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    60
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
863 reviews
579 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 856 helpful votes
“Great Drive Through Part of the Park”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After stopping at the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore visitor center to obtain a park pass and map, we used the park directions to the Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive. At the entrance gate, the ranger gave us a map of the scenic drive and its viewing points. Her advice for anyone in a hurry was to be sure to see points 3, 9, and 10. We weren't in a hurry, so we took our time for all of the stops. It is a most pleasant drive with interesting information on the guide and beautiful views. The view of Glen Lake is breathtaking -- a nice photo opportunity. We spent the most time at stops 9 and 10 for fabulous views of Lake Michigan from the bluff and a short walk up a sand dune trail (not THE sand dune trail -- that's in the park north of the Pierce Stocking Drive). Errosion has deteriorated the sleeping bear dune, but we enjoyed the walk anyway. The tree and its interesting roots also made for a good photo opportunity. Don't miss this drive when you visit SBD. It's not open year round, so check the park website to verify dates and hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The guide will be more than happy to recommend the points to see if you are strapped for time. We stopped at point 3, 9 & 10. Spectacular views. Be prepared for spend some time at point 9 & 10 - more sand dunes and a bit of walking required.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Azlina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great views of the sand dunes”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The drive is part of the national lake shore park. The entry fee includes this drive and the dune climb. Both are amazing. The drive is the easy way to explore some of the dunes. There is views of Glen Lake. A small hiking trial. Then one of the last stops on the drive is some of the best vies of the dunes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family climb.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our family take the "big" dune on each year to see who can climb it the fastest. It's a wonderful memory for the children as well as the adults. No one misses out on the dune climb in Pierce Stocking not to mention the beautiful picnic area's and the sighting deer, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive also viewed

 
Empire, Leelanau County
 

Been to Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing