We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved our stay at house on the hill.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House on the Hill
Ranked #1 of 5 Ellsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morley, Michigan
1 review
“loved our stay at house on the hill.”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

our childred found this delightful bed and breakfast for us..we could not have been happier...we arrived having driven the color tour thru the area and were met at the door by our very accomodating host...after making fresh coffee they sent us hiking on the trails they had made behind thier home...across the road they have kayaks and canoes waiting for you to take out on the lake..they made our dinner reservations and delivered an exceptional breakfast in the morning..it is a place that will see us again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank judy42486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
125
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

What a wonderful place. We do not usually stay in B&B's but this place came highly recommended by friends who have stayed here & Loved it!
We were not disappointed. EVERY aspect of our stay was truely fantastic.
From the wonderful room in the carriage house with it's incrediable view.
To the awesome food served each morning. Marci is a great cook.
We will be back! Hopefuly this winter to try snowshoes out on the 50+ acres of groomed hiking trails that we walked this trip. The fall colors were breath taking.
The main house is cozy & inviting. Lots to look at. Each room had it's own charm & appeal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

House on the Hill is a beautiful place set on beautiful property. Lots of space to move around and to walk and explore. Owners were extremely helpful to recommend restaurants and activities. Can't say enough good things!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinevanhoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Phil and Marci made us feel like family - we really enjoyed the visit!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, MI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The House on the Hill is a new "find" for my wife and I. We just spent four days with Marci, Phil and their lovely daughter. This is a place we will return to many times. Why?

1. Very accommodating host and hostess.
2. Beautiful location overlooking a small lake.
3. Comfortable, clean guest rooms and common areas. (i love the front porch.)
4. Centrally located for visiting Charlevoix, Petoskey, Boyne City, Traverse City, MI wine country, etc.
5. Close to the Rowe Inn and Tennis courts.
6. Wonderful breakfasts served with grace and charm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKLakeside_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed for three days, and each day we enjoyed an entirely different gourmet breakfast. We enjoyed it so much we purchased her cook book.
The rooms were very clean and neat, plus they have many hiking trails and nice dock with deck chairs.

Very relaxing – we’ll be back.
Mr. & Mrs. Peters

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetersinMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We went to this bed and breakfast for a special event dinner, which was fabulous. We had stayed here before when it was owned by the previous inn-keepers, but this was our first time here with Marci and Phillip as owners. The property is beautiful, tucked away in a rural area of northern Michigan with lake views and walking trails. It is in close proximity to the city of Charlevoix. It is spotlessly clean and well maintained in every way. Marci and Phillip are friendly, hospitable and wonderful cooks! We recommend it highly! Sara and Jim Daniel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
10.6 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
766 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
452 reviews
19.7 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
7.0 mi away
Torch Lake Bed & Breakfast
Torch Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Central Lake
46 reviews
10.6 mi away
Horton Creek Inn B&B
Horton Creek Inn B&B
#2 of 9 in Charlevoix
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Hill

Property: The House on the Hill
Address: 9661 Lake St, Ellsworth, MI 49729-9671
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House on the Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Michigan's Premier Bed and Breakfast overlooks peaceful St. Clair Lake, part of the Chain of Lakes. Paddle Boards, Kayaks and Canoe available during your visit. 53 Wooded acres, groomed hiking trails, spectacular gardens and sitting areas. Walking distance to the restaurant The Rowe Inn. Memorable sit-down full breakfasts. King or queen beds in every room, along with private bath. Elegantly appointed. Winter packages. Open year-round. Charlevoix, 11 miles. Petoskey, 25 miles. Traverse City, 38 miles. Voted #1 Best Bed & Breakfast in Northwest Michigan for two consecutive years . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The House on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing