We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, relaxing, clean and inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House on the Hill
Ranked #1 of 5 Ellsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Calm, relaxing, clean and inviting”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've not done many B&B's, so we were a little apprehensive. But, oh, what a good decision. We met some very nice people. The breakfast that Phil and Marci put on is excellent. Our room and the common areas were very clean, restful and inviting. The weather was nasty when we were there and we didn't have much time to enjoy their 50 some acres of property.

We are thinking about going back next Spring for a couple of nights. We were very pleasantly surprised and had a great night's sleep.

Room Tip: We had the (I think) Cherry room. It looks out over the hills. Other guests liked the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
125
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harper Woods, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I recently had an amazing stay with Marci and Phil at House on the Hill. The "main" things were great (accommodations and food) but what most impressed us were the "extras," from fuzzy bathrobes in the bathroom to "anytime" drinks and snacks (help-yourself homemade cookies appeared on table one afternoon - just because!) to help picking places to eat and sites to see. Gorgeous grounds and lake access are a real plus. We took the inn's canoe out one misty morning and had the water all to ourselves...well actually we shared it with a few gorgeous swans! This place is a real gem.

Room Tip: The Rose Room - spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAH3713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a beautiful home! We were overjoyed to find this B & B so homey. The room was very clean and well appointed. The outdoors is a sensory pleasure. The breakfast menu was a taste sensation! We will be coming back to this, House on the Hill, again and recommending this B&B to others. Thank You Marci !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

House in the Hill is a beautiful facility with gorgeously appointed rooms with modern, up-to-date amenities. Set on a hill overlooking the lake the views are tremendous. A wide front porch looking down on the lake and several interior living rooms provide great places to relax. Marci is a great host and serves a delicious breakfast. Overall a great place to spend some quiet time in beautiful, up-north Michigan!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 442GaryF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Breakfast was delicious and unique. The common areas and grounds were a nice place to spend time. We had a very relaxing time at the end of a camping trip. Marci and Phillip were great hosts. We would love to come back some time!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cedar room. It was a bit smaller than we imagined, but the bed was comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We feel in love with this B&B. The room we stayed in was super clean and comfortable. We hope to stay again in the future. The breakfast was excellently prepared. The owners were very nice and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a real treat to stay here. It gave the feeling the way a person would want their home to feel. Marci does a great job with breakfast and the property allows for someone to just "get away from it all".

It was very peaceful and enjoyable to see a deer with her fawns walk down to the brook and eat the fallen apples from the trees and see the birds nesting in the trees. The water was just like glass in the morning and the surrounding area would allow anyone that lives in a metropolitan area an escape to the rural environment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIWingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
10.6 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
766 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
452 reviews
19.7 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
7.0 mi away
Torch Lake Bed & Breakfast
Torch Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Central Lake
46 reviews
10.6 mi away
Horton Creek Inn B&B
Horton Creek Inn B&B
#2 of 9 in Charlevoix
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Hill

Property: The House on the Hill
Address: 9661 Lake St, Ellsworth, MI 49729-9671
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House on the Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Michigan's Premier Bed and Breakfast overlooks peaceful St. Clair Lake, part of the Chain of Lakes. Paddle Boards, Kayaks and Canoe available during your visit. 53 Wooded acres, groomed hiking trails, spectacular gardens and sitting areas. Walking distance to the restaurant The Rowe Inn. Memorable sit-down full breakfasts. King or queen beds in every room, along with private bath. Elegantly appointed. Winter packages. Open year-round. Charlevoix, 11 miles. Petoskey, 25 miles. Traverse City, 38 miles. Voted #1 Best Bed & Breakfast in Northwest Michigan for two consecutive years . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The House on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing