We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairn House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Elk Rapids B&B and Inns
Michigan
1 review
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Cairn House many times. We have had great food and hospitality. Helen is a wonderful, friendly hostess. She has many stories to tell about her world travels. The B&B is in a quiet country setting and is beautifully landscaped. Each room has a different theme and is decorated accordingly. The B&B is very clean and has been updated on a regular basis. We have sent friends to stay there and they have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arubalady09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2009

For this being our first time staying at a B & B we were a little leery on what to expect. I must say that we were pleasantly surprised and will definately be returning again!! Helen, is a wonderful, yet accomodating host who's storys are endless. We could have sat and talked to her all day. The home and yard are very clean and well kept! Breakfasts are absoultely AMAZING and we left with new recipe to add to our breakfast meals at home. We HIGHLY recommend the Cairn House and Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_luciouslb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Our extended family and friends stay at the Cairn House every summer while passing through the Elk Rapids area on a long bicycle trip/tour. Helen, the owner, accomodates our large group (19) and makes everyone feel welcome. This year we had small children with us and she greeted our arrival with fresh baked cookies for the small ones.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable and each has it's own private bathroom. We have always found the premises to be very clean and neat. In the morning, Helen serves a wonderful breakfast and is very attentive to make sure everyone has eaten and is satisfied.
The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the back of the property overlooks a large field with an incredible sunset view.
Helen is very knowledgable of the areas lakes and villages and she has maps and literature for the guests. She will also help make suggestions on dining locations and help make a dinner reservation too.
Staying at the Cairn House, for us, is a lot like visiting an old friend. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blucrabdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We enjoyed our stay. Very nice and roomy accommodation with private bath. Hostess was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The Cairn House is a wonderful place to stay. There is wireless internet and plenty of common space to enjoy your traveling buddy or to work. The town (which is very cute) and Lake Michigan is a 3 min drive away. The backyard is beautifully landscapes and then overlooks fields.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2009

My husband and I spent a long weekend at Cairn house last August (also the year before) with boating friends.

The location is ideal for boating on Lake Michigan and also inland lakes. Food was excellent and served with caring attention to our preferences. Helen took a real interest in our plans and helped with additional information and suggestions.

Our room was..roomy..beautifully furnished, clean and neat. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2009

If you want a setting that is a "home away from home", The Cairn House Bed and Breakfast in Elk Rapids is for you. From the beautiful grounds to the proprietor greeting you at the door, you know you have found the right place for your stay in Michigan. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. An excellent breakfast awaits you every morning served in the glassed in porch. We feel like family after visiting 2 consecutive summers.
Cindy

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landandlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Rapids
12.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
14.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
15.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
14.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
335 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cairn House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8160 Cairn Hwy, PO Box 858, Elk Rapids, MI 49629-9310
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Elk Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elk Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant colonial style home, Cairn House Bed and Breakfast, a Northern Michigan Bed and Breakfast, welcomes you to enjoy this serene natural setting near the coastal village of Elk Rapids, MI on Lake Michigan, twenty miles north of Traverse City, Michigan. Cairn House B&B takes pleasure in sharing the elegant furnishings collected from around the world. Relax in front of the fireplace in our formal living room or retreat to the sun room to enjoy a good novel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cairn House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing