We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tim D”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairn House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Elk Rapids B&B and Inns
Canton, Michigan
2 reviews
“Tim D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our stay at Cairn House was very satisfying. We found our host Helen to be gracious and very accommodating. Her breakfasts were delicious and generous. The house was very neat and clean, as were the sleeping quarters. We thoroughly enjoyed hearing about Helen's yearly travels as a volunteer to distant locations around the world. She is quite a remarkable woman and her B&B reflects her unique experiences. We will definitely stay here again when in this area because it offers more than most hotels and motels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

While my visit to Cairn B & B was brief, it was easy, comfortable and has my recommendation for anyone who finds themselves in the area. Helen was helpful even before I got there and gave me suggestions and directions once there for places I needed to go. The Inn is welcoming and clean, the rooms are spacious, and the common space relaxing for guests to gather. Helen has interesting, heartwarming stories about her yearly volunteer work in third-world countries. My admiration for her and enjoyment of her was an excellent take away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Cairn house. Helen made us feel very welcomed and even suggested a few places to visit while we were there. Her cooking was also very good, but we especially enjoyed being able to talk to her and the other guests at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

On a recent quick trip to Elk Rapids to visit my sister, I found the Cairn House B&B. We were there for only one night and it was a delightful place to stay. On previous trips, I had driven to Acme to stay at a chain hotel. Now that I've discovered Cairn House, that will be the place I will always stay when I'm in the area. The room was very clean as was the whole beautiful house. The bed was very comfy as well. Helen is a delightful person who made a wonderful breakfast for us and then sat and chatted while we ate. She is a most interesting person who has many volunteering experiences in third-world countries. Although we have also travelled extensively in foreign countries, Helen's tales of things she did and saw had us in awe. The whole area is a wonderful vacation place and the town of Elk Rapids is beautiful and family friendly. I can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus,ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We totally fell in love with this Bed & Breakfast! The home is beautiful and very close to downtown Elk Rapids and the chain of lakes. We had a wonderful time visiting all of the surrounding lakes and small towns. The views are spectacular! Our room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Helen is an amazing person and a wonderful cook. We would definitely recommend Cairn House and will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oriental Room and had a view of Elk Lake across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Cairn House for 5 days and totally enjoy the time. Helen cooks a quick breakfast every morning which is very delicious. The place is very clean and comfortable with beautiful interior and grounds. It's location is great for traveling to tourist attractions around the Traverse City area. Helen is a great inn keeper and fun to talk to about her travels around the world. The rooms are great with everything you need, including a quiet atmosphere. We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had the wonderful experience of spending four nights at the Carin House last month. The bed and breakfast was absolutely charming. The location was perfect for my needs. It was convenient to my family's overcrowded lakefront. I got to spend my days with family and quiet, restful nights at the Carin. Each morning I woke up and wondered what delicious breakfast was awaiting me. I was never disappointed. Helen has a wonderful personality and makes you feel like you are at home. She even went out of her way to print my airline boarding pass for me. The bed and breakfast was immaculately clean. I had the opportunity to walk the grounds which are perfectly manicured. I will definitely be going back to stay again.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to stay at this charming bed a d breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Rapids
12.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
14.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
14.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
13.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
14.3 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cairn House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8160 Cairn Hwy, PO Box 858, Elk Rapids, MI 49629-9310
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Elk Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elk Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant colonial style home, Cairn House Bed and Breakfast, a Northern Michigan Bed and Breakfast, welcomes you to enjoy this serene natural setting near the coastal village of Elk Rapids, MI on Lake Michigan, twenty miles north of Traverse City, Michigan. Cairn House B&B takes pleasure in sharing the elegant furnishings collected from around the world. Relax in front of the fireplace in our formal living room or retreat to the sun room to enjoy a good novel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cairn House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing