We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairn House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Elk Rapids B&B and Inns
columbus,ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming B & B”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We totally fell in love with this Bed & Breakfast! The home is beautiful and very close to downtown Elk Rapids and the chain of lakes. We had a wonderful time visiting all of the surrounding lakes and small towns. The views are spectacular! Our room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Helen is an amazing person and a wonderful cook. We would definitely recommend Cairn House and will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oriental Room and had a view of Elk Lake across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Paris, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Cairn House for 5 days and totally enjoy the time. Helen cooks a quick breakfast every morning which is very delicious. The place is very clean and comfortable with beautiful interior and grounds. It's location is great for traveling to tourist attractions around the Traverse City area. Helen is a great inn keeper and fun to talk to about her travels around the world. The rooms are great with everything you need, including a quiet atmosphere. We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had the wonderful experience of spending four nights at the Carin House last month. The bed and breakfast was absolutely charming. The location was perfect for my needs. It was convenient to my family's overcrowded lakefront. I got to spend my days with family and quiet, restful nights at the Carin. Each morning I woke up and wondered what delicious breakfast was awaiting me. I was never disappointed. Helen has a wonderful personality and makes you feel like you are at home. She even went out of her way to print my airline boarding pass for me. The bed and breakfast was immaculately clean. I had the opportunity to walk the grounds which are perfectly manicured. I will definitely be going back to stay again.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to stay at this charming bed a d breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for three nights last July.
Helen, the owner is a very nice person and she made us delicious breakfasts, a different one every morninig.
The house is beautiful, inside and out, and so are the surroundings.
Our room was big and it had a very comfortable bed.
We definitely would go there again .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Cairn House B&B. It was very clean and comfortable. Helen prepared a tasty breakfast both mornings we were there and it was served on a lovely sunporch. This was our first stay at a B&B and had no idea what to expect. We were pleased.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our stay was quiet and pleasant and only a few minutes away from downtown Elk Rapids and the waterfront parks. Art Rapids art show was a fun event to attend.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Cairn House for a weekend away from the kids. We both had a great time. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Helen was a great hostess.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaH42256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Rapids
12.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
14.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
14.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
315 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,069 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cairn House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8160 Cairn Hwy, PO Box 858, Elk Rapids, MI 49629-9310
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Elk Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elk Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant colonial style home, Cairn House Bed and Breakfast, a Northern Michigan Bed and Breakfast, welcomes you to enjoy this serene natural setting near the coastal village of Elk Rapids, MI on Lake Michigan, twenty miles north of Traverse City, Michigan. Cairn House B&B takes pleasure in sharing the elegant furnishings collected from around the world. Relax in front of the fireplace in our formal living room or retreat to the sun room to enjoy a good novel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cairn House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing