We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this restaurant !”
Review of Sweet Mama's - CLOSED

Sweet Mama's
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant !”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were looking for a great lunch spot and thanks to Trip Advisor we found it. My fish tacos were the best I've ever had. My spouse loved the soft shell crab sandwich - great flavor and nicely fried. The fries are wonderful - steak cut fries and beautifully seasoned. Definitely not to be missed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthbyNorthwest_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service, reasonable prices”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visit Elk Rapids every year to see family and decided to drop in here and have lunch. We were extremely impressed. The place is small, nicely decorated and friendly. The food was AMAZING. We had fried green tomatoes, fish tacos and the soft shell crab sandwich. We wanted to have desert, and after reading some of the other reviews I'm sorry we didn't. We will order less next time to save space. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Born2read
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After enjoying the food at their restaurant we asked Sweet Mama's to cater our son's rehearsal dinner. AWESOME food with great flavors and a bit of a twist. Melt in your mouth Fish and beef tacos, yummy pulled pork, coleslaw with a zip and perfect red skin potatoe salad, toppped off with peach cobbler and cream. A big hit for all ages with no leftovers!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugreturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sweet Mama Mia!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had heard great things about Sweet Mama's so our group of eight headed over for lunch to see for ourselves. The room is very welcoming and features some great artwork, some of which is for sale by a local artist. The fish and chips special was outstanding and was definitely the best I have ever had. Others in our party ordered the pulled pork sandwich and fish taco specials which they really liked as well. We would have tried one of their desserts which we had heard were fabulous but we will have to try them next time as we were "stuffed". We were there on one of the busiest weekends of the season and the place was packed. The service was with a smile and Chef Ralph Humes even took the time to stop by our table to personally greet us! Can't wait to return to sample the dinner fare which features some classic Cajun cuisine. Note that payment is cash only,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisePortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Treated us special!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a nice place for lunch on our way back from Charlevoix. He really wanted fried whitefish and we were searching for a restaurant that served it. We stopped at Sweet Mamas. We saw they had fish and chips but it was cod. Our waitress asked John the cook/owner if he could make us what we wanted and he was happy to! The fish was moist with crispy skin. The fries were fresh cut and perfectly fried. The coleslaw and tarter sauce all homemade. It was a perfect meal. We were too full for dessert. Too bad because those were all fresh and homemade too. Worth a trip to Elk Rapids if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debra1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Mama's also viewed

Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 
Elk Rapids, Antrim County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing